Fall 2020 dates for final exams and student departure at global academic centers do not necessarily align with the degree-granting campuses. For students taking campus courses remotely, it is possible to have a final scheduled after the exam and student departure dates at their global site. Students should take this into account before booking round trip tickets.

Calendars by Semester

Please note, all calendars below are subject to change. For information on refund schedules please visit the Policies and Procedures page.

Fall 2020

  • Saturday, August 29: Student Arrival
  • Monday, August 31 - Tuesday, September 1: Mandatory Orientation
  • Wednesday, September 2: NYU Washington, DC Classes Begin
  • Monday, September 7: No Classes - NYU New York & Site Holiday
  • Wednesday, September 9: Classes meet according to Monday Class Schedule - NYU New York Legislative Day
  • Tuesday, September 15: Last day to drop/add NYU Washington, DC courses. Last day to drop NYU Washington, DC courses and not receive a "W". Last day of active waitlists.
  • Thursday, November 12: Wasserman Center Global Internship Grant
  • Thursday, November 26: No Classes - NYU New York & Site Holiday
  • Friday, November 27: No Classes - NYU New York & Site Holiday
  • Monday, November 30: Last day to withdraw from an NYU Washington, DC course (with a "W" on transcript). Last day to declare pass/fail grading option.
  • Thursday, December 10: Last Day of NYU Washington, DC Classes
  • Monday, December 14: Reading Day
  • Tuesday, December 15 - Thursday, December 17: Final Exams for NYU Washington, DC Classes
  • Friday, December 18: Student Departure

January 2021

Students participating in January programs should consult course / program calendars as dates may vary by program.

  • Sunday, December 20 - Saturday, January 2: Academic Center Closed
  • Sunday, January 3: Earliest Student Arrival
  • Monday, January 4: J-Term Classes Begin
  • Monday, January 18: MLK Holiday; No Classes; Academic Center Closed
  • Friday, January 22: Latest J-Term Student Departure

Spring 2021

Spring 2021 academic calendar will be adjusted here later in the semester after Spring plans are solidified. Please check back later in the semester for updates. 

Summer 2021

Students participating in Summer programs should consult course / program calendars as dates may vary by program.

  • Sunday, May 23: Earliest Student Arrival
  • Monday, May 31: Memorial Day Holiday. No Classes; Academic Center Closed
  • Monday, July 5: Fourth of July Holiday Observed. No Classes; Academic Center Closed
  • Friday, August 13: Latest Summer Term Student Departure