Calendars by Semester

Please note, all calendars below are subject to change. Different summer away programs may have different calendars. Please reference your program-specific website for the most accurate information. For information on refund schedules please visit the Policies and Procedures page.

Fall 2023

Calendar Subject to Change. NYU Sydney Fall 2023 is aligned with USYD (University of Sydney) Semester 2.                   Last updated January 31, 2023

  • Sunday, July 23: Student arrival (NOTE: Dependent on city of origin, your flight might depart on Friday, July 21)
  • Monday, July 24 - Friday, July 28: Mandatory Orientation
  • Monday, July 31: NYU Sydney and USYD Classes Begin
  • Friday, August 4: Last day to add USYD courses.
  • Friday, August 11: Last day to add/drop NYU Sydney courses and not receive a "W." Last day of active waitlists.
  • Thursday, August 31: Last day to drop USYD courses and not receive a DF (Discontinue Fail). This action is equivalent to dropping without a "W" at NYU.
  • Monday, September 25 - Friday, September 29: Mid-semester Break. No Class Scheduled
  • Monday, October 2: No Classes. Academic Center Closed - Local Holiday
  • Friday, October 6: Make Up Day; Classes meet according to Monday Class Schedule
  • Monday, October 23: Last day to withdraw from an NYU Sydney course (with a "W" on transcript). Last day to declare pass/fail grading option for an NYU Sydney and USYD course.
  • Friday, November 3: Last Day of NYU Sydney and USYD Classes
  • Monday, November 6 - Friday, November 10: Reading Week
  • Monday, November 13 - Saturday, November 25: NYU Sydney and USYD final exams.
  • Thursday, November 16 - Sunday, December 10: Student Departure Period. Students may depart at any time during this period after their last scheduled exam.

Spring 2024

Calendar Subject to Change. NYU Sydney Spring 2024 is aligned with USYD (University of Sydney) Semester 1.                   Last updated 6 June 2023

  • Sunday, February 11*: Tentative Student Arrival (NOTE: Dependent on city of origin, your flight might depart on Friday, February 9) *Please do not purchase tickets for your flights until advised by Global Programs. 
  • Monday, February 12 - Friday, February 16: Mandatory Orientation
  • Monday, February 19: NYU Sydney and USYD Classes Begin
  • Friday, February 23: Last day to add USYD courses.
  • Thursday, February 29: Last day to add/drop NYU Sydney courses and not receive a "W." Last day of active waitlists.
  • Friday, March 29: No Classes. Academic Center Closed - Local Holiday
  • Tuesday, April 2: Last day to drop USYD courses and not receive a DF (Discontinue Fail). This action is equivalent to dropping without a "W" at NYU.
  • Monday, April 1 - Friday, April 5: Mid-semester Break. No Class Scheduled
  • Thursday, April 25: No Classes. Academic Center Closed - Local Holiday
  • Friday, April 26: Make Up Day; Classes meet according to Thursday Class Schedule
  • Saturday, May 11: Last day to withdraw from an NYU Sydney course (with a "W" on transcript). Last day to declare pass/fail grading option for an NYU Sydney or USYD course.
  • Friday, May 24: Last Day of NYU Sydney and USYD Classes
  • Monday, May 27 - Friday, May 31: Reading Week
  • Monday, June 3 - Saturday, June 15: NYU Sydney and USYD final exams.
  • Thursday, June 6 - Sunday, June 30: Student Departure Period. Students may depart at any time during this period after their last scheduled exam.

Fall 2024

Calendar Subject to Change. NYU Sydney Fall 2024 is aligned with USYD (University of Sydney) Semester 2.                   Last updated January 18 2024

  • Sunday, July 21*: Tentative Student arrival (NOTE: Dependent on city of origin, your flight might depart on Friday, July 19)
  • Monday, July 22 - Friday, July 26: Mandatory Orientation
  • Monday, July 29: NYU Sydney and USYD Classes Begin
  • Friday, August 2: Last day to add USYD courses.
  • Thursday, August 8: Last day to add/drop NYU Sydney courses and not receive a "W." Last day of active waitlists.
  • Monday, September 2: Last day to drop USYD courses and not receive a DF (Discontinue Fail). This action is equivalent to dropping without a "W" at NYU.
  • Monday, September 30 - Friday, October 4: Mid-semester Break. No Class Scheduled
  • Monday, October 7: No Classes. Academic Center Closed - Local Holiday
  • Friday, October 11: Make Up Day; Classes meet according to Monday Class Schedule
  • TBC: Last day to withdraw from an NYU Sydney course (with a "W" on transcript). Last day to declare pass/fail grading option for an NYU Sydney or USYD course.
  • Friday, November 22: Last Day of NYU Sydney and USYD Classes
  • Monday, November 4 - Friday, November 8: Reading Week
  • Monday, November 11 - Friday, November 22: NYU Sydney and USYD final exams.
  • Wednesday, November 13 - Sunday, December 8: Student Departure Period. Students may depart at any time during this period after their last scheduled exam.