2023 Honorary Degree Recipients

 A photograph of honorary degree recipient Sanna Marin

Sanna Marin (Credit: Lauri Heikkinen)

Sanna Marin

Sanna Marin, the 46th Prime Minister of Finland, will receive a Doctor of Humane Letters and will deliver remarks on behalf of the honorary degree recipients.

 A photograph of honorary degree recipient Carolyn Bertozzi

Carolyn Bertozzi (Credit: Christopher Michel)

Carolyn Bertozzi

Carolyn Bertozzi, Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences and Professor of Chemistry at Stanford University, will receive a Doctor of Science, honoris causa.

 A photograph of honorary degree recipient Misty Copeland.

Misty Copeland (Credit: Masterclass)

Misty Copeland

Misty Copeland, Principal Dancer, American Ballet Theatre, will receive a Doctor of Fine Arts, honoris causa.  

A photograph of Honorary Degree Recipient Freeman Hrabowski.

Freeman A. Hrabowski (Credit: Office of the President, UMBC)

Freeman A. Hrabowski

Freeman A. Hrabowski, President Emeritus of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, will receive a Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa.

Presidential Medal, Gallatin Medal, and Rudin Award

These distinguished individuals will recognized at other Commencement events.

The Presidential Medal will be presented to Salman Rushdie — the renowned, Indian-born Booker Prize-winning novelist and Distinguished Writer in Residence at NYU's Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute — for his literary mastery and his courage in sustaining the principle of the free exchange of ideas in the face of threats and grievous physical attacks.

The Lewis Rudin Award for Exemplary Service to New York City will be presented to Dennis Walcott — a social worker, former head of the New York Urban League, former member of the NYC Board of Education, former Deputy Mayor for Education, former New York City Schools Chancellor, and currently President and CEO of the Queens Public Library — for his extraordinary record of public service to New Yorkers.

The Albert Gallatin Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Society will be presented to NYU Trustee and Chailease Group Chair Andre J.L. Koo (STERN '94) for his visionary leadership and landmark support of the Stern School of Business, enabling countless students to achieve the NYU dream and serving as a catalyst for NYU to excel as a leading global institution.