Schools, Faculties, and Divisions of the University [University Bylaws, Section 73]

(a) Colleges and Schools. The University comprises the following integral colleges and schools, listed in order of their establishment:

  • 1832 College of Arts and Science
  • 1835 School of Law
  • 1841 Robert I. Grossman School of Medicine
  • 1865 College of Dentistry
  • 1886 Graduate School of Arts and Science
  • 1890 The Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development
  • 1900 Leonard N. Stern School of Business, Undergraduate College
  • 1916 Leonard N. Stern School of Business, Graduate Division
  • 1934 School of Professional Studies
  • 1938 Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
  • 1948 Post-Graduate Medical School
  • 1960 The Silver School of Social Work
  • 1965 Tisch School of the Arts
  • 1972 Gallatin School of Individualized Study
  • 2014 Tandon School of Engineering
  • 2015 Rory Meyers College of Nursing
  • 2015 School of Global Public Health
  • 2019 Long Island School of Medicine

(b) Separate Faculties. The colleges and schools of the University are governed by their separate faculties, except that the Faculty of Medicine is responsible for the Robert I. Grossman School of Medicine and for the Post-Graduate Medical School, the Faculty of Arts and Science is responsible for the College of Arts and Science and for the Graduate School of Arts and Science, and the Faculty of Business Administration is responsible for the Leonard N. Stern School of Business, Undergraduate College and for the Leonard N. Stern School of Business, Graduate Division.

(c) Division of Libraries. The University also comprises the Division of the Libraries which performs academic functions across school lines and is governed by its faculty and officers in accordance with procedures defined and approved by the President and Chancellor.


The dean of each school [see University Bylaws, Sections 74(a) and (b)] is appointed by the Board of Trustees on the recommendation of the President and Chancellor and serves as the administrative head of his or her respective faculty. The dean is “responsible for carrying out the policies of the University” and for executing “such rules as his or her faculty may from time to time adopt.” The dean presides at faculty meetings, supervises the work of his or her faculty, and makes recommendations to the President and Chancellor for the appointment, promotion, tenure as appropriate, dismissal, and retirement of his or her faculty and administration in the school. The dean is responsible for the preparation and submission of the budget for the school and for its implementation when approved. Offices such as that of Executive Dean or Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Science have from time to time been created to supervise or coordinate the activities of two or more schools or of their faculty members.

Administration of Academic Departments

The President and Chancellor, subject to the approval of the Board of Trustees, is authorized to divide courses of instruction into departments (see University Bylaws, Section 75). The chief executive officer of a department other than a University department will bear the title “chair” and will be responsible to the dean of that school; and the chief executive officer of a University academic department that is an academic department incorporating more than one college or school, will bear the title of “head” and will be responsible through the appropriate deans to the Provost and President and Chancellor (see University Bylaws, Section 76).

Responsibilities of the Faculties [University Bylaws, Section 79]

(a) Educational Conduct and Functions. The educational conduct of each of the several colleges and schools, within the limits prescribed by these bylaws or by the Board, is committed to the faculty of each of the colleges and schools, and to such officers of the colleges and schools as the Board may appoint. The educational functions of the libraries of the University, as defined and structured by the President and Chancellor, are similarly committed to the faculty and officers of the Division of the Libraries.

(b) Entrance Requirements, Courses of Study and Degrees and Certificates. Subject to the approval of the Board and to general University policy as defined by the President and Chancellor and the Senate, it is the duty of each faculty to determine entrance requirements of the college or school under its care, to determine courses of study to be pursued and the standards of academic achievement to be attained for each degree offered, to prepare a schedule of lectures, to make and enforce rules for the guidance and conduct of the students, and to certify to the President and Chancellor, for recommendation to the Board, qualified candidates for degrees and certificates.

(c) Athletics and Other Extracurricular Activities. Each faculty will make and enforce rules of eligibility for the participation of its own students in athletics and other extracurricular activities. However, the University requirements for student participation in intercollegiate athletics will be determined by the Senate on the recommendation of an appropriate committee of the several faculties and will be uniformly applied in the college and schools concerned therewith.

(d) Libraries. It is the duty of the faculty of the Division of the Libraries to implement the resources and services of its various libraries in accordance with the instructional and research needs of the University and in collaboration with the academic units which the libraries serve and support; to promote and develop the use of the libraries and their resources through interaction with the University community and through research and publication; and to make and enforce policies as desirable to ensure that the libraries’ resources and services advance learning, research, and scholarly inquiry in an environment dedicated to open, equitable, and productive exchange of scholarly information.

(See also “The University Senate,” “Faculty Membership," and "Faculty Meetings”)