The standing committees of the Senate, all of which include members drawn from the Councils comprising the Senate, as well as appropriate senior members of the administration who serve as Senators, are: the Executive Committee; the Academic Affairs Committee; the Financial Affairs Committee; the Organization and Governance Committee; the Public Affairs Committee; and the Community Standards Committee.

The Executive Committee, composed of the President, the chairs of the Councils, and the Secretary of the Senate who is a non-voting member, appoints the members of the standing committees of the Senate, elects the officers of the Senate, prepares the agenda for each Senate meeting, is authorized to act on urgent matters that may arise at times when the full Senate cannot be convened, and is empowered to refer topics to Senate committees and to appropriate offices of the University.

See the Senate Rules of Procedure for additional information.