Using Versions

Create Version

Version Control is a way to backup your work while editing pages in the CMS. A version is essentially a snapshot of all your content on a given page at a particular point in time. Each time you activate your page, the CMS automatically creates a version of that page. You can also manually create page versions and leave notes about changes you've made to the page. When making large content changes, using versions can serve as a potential backup in case you need to revert to a previous rendition of your page.

  1. Navigate to and open your page.
  2. In the Sidekick, click the Versioning tab (clock icon).
  3. By default it will open to the option to Create Version.
  4. Leave notes in the Comment field.
  5. Click Create Version.

List of Versions

Versions will appear in reverse order beginning with the most recently created page version. Each time you activate the page or manually create a version, a new item will be added to the list of versions. The version label will increment as you continue to make more versions (1.1, 1.2, 1.3, etc) listed alongside the date and time it was created.

Restore Version

If you've made edits to your page and want to restore to a previous version you can:

  1. Navigate to and open your page.
  2. In the Sidekick, click the Versioning tab (clock icon).
  3. Expand the Restore Version option by clicking the +.
  4. A list of available page versions will appear. You can hover your cursor over page versions to see if any comments were left when the versions were first created.
  5. Click the checkbox to left of the version you want to restore to.
    1. Do not restore to any versions created before July 20, 2016.
  6. Click Restore.
  7. All other versions will still be available, but the version that you now see in Edit Mode will be bold.

Things to Note

Some important things to keep in mind when using Version Control:

  • Do not restore to any versions created before July 20, 2016.
    • They will revert to an older site design and there is no way to restore them back to the updated design.
  • Only users with CMS Approver access (those able to activate pages) are able to restore a page to a previous version.
  • Only 140 versions per page for a maximum for 14 months are able to be saved in the CMS. Versions exceeding these criteria will be deleted in order to maintain system performance.
  • Once a page is deleted in the CMS, no versions of it remain.
  • CMS Authoring System Backup Standards:
    • The CMS Team conducts extensive backups of the CMS Authoring System every Friday beginning at 10 p.m. EST.
    • It is the responsibility of each CMS user to create versions of their content using Version Control in the event that they may need to restore their page(s) to a previous state.
    • It is not guaranteed that accidentally deleted content or pages will be able to be restored on behalf of CMS users.