Activating a Page

Publication Status

When you activate a page, you are publishing it to the live NYU website. Pages created or modified in the CMS Authoring Environment are not visible on the live NYU website until they have been activated. While in the Site Admin view, there are five status colors to help users determine the current publication state of their pages.

  • Green - Page is activated. Content is published on the live site.
  • Red - Page is deactivated. Content on this page will not appear on the live site.
  • Yellow - Page activation or deactivation is in progress.
  • Blue - The page was modified, but not yet activated.
  • Grey - The page is unmodified. Content has never been activated or no changes have been made since last activated.
Activation status

Activate a Page

Page activation is one of the most important and commonly sought out features in the CMS. There are three ways to activate a page, two of which can be done while in Site Admin view and the third while in Edit Mode.

Activate a Page in Site Admin View

  1. Use the left-hand Navigation Pane to navigate to the parent page of the page you want to activate.
  2. Click once on the parent page in the Navigation Pane so that it is highlighted in green and a list of child pages appear in the right-hand Details Pane.
  3. Locate the page you want to activate in the Details Pane. To activate the page:
    1. Click on the page so it is highlighted in green. Click "Activate" from the menu bar; or
    2. Right-click on the page you want to activate and select "Activate" from the menu.

Activate a Page in Edit Mode

  1. Open the page you want to activate.
  2. Click on the Page tab in the Sidekick. The Page tab is icon looks like a sheet of paper with a globe on it.
  3. Click "Activate Page."

Deactivate a Page

As with activating a page there are three ways to deactivate a page, two of which can be done while in Site Admin view and the third while in Edit Mode.

Deactivate a Page in Site Admin View

  1. Use the left-hand Navigation Pane to navigate to the parent page of the page you want to deactivate.
  2. Click once on the parent page in the Navigation Pane so that it is highlighted in green and a list of child pages appear in the right-hand Details Pane.
  3. Locate the page you want to deactivate in the Details Pane. To deactivate the page:
    1. Click on the page so it is highlighted in green. Click "Deactivate" from the menu bar; or
    2. Right-click on the page you want to deactivate and select "Deactivate" from the menu.

Deactivate a Page in Edit Mode

  1. Open the page you want to deactivate.
  2. Click on the Page tab in the Sidekick. The Page tab is icon looks like a sheet of paper with a globe on it.
  3. Click "Deactivate Page."

Delete a Page

If a page is no longer necessary and you do not need it in the future, you can delete it from the CMS. Deleting pages cannot be undone. If you delete a parent page, then all child pages underneath will be deleted as well.

  1. Use the left-hand Navigation Pane to navigate to the parent page of the page you want to delete.
  2. Click once on the parent page in the Navigation Pane so that it's highlighted in green and a list of child pages appear in the right-hand Details Pane.
  3. Locate the page you want to delete in the Details Pane. Make sure the page has been deactivated and then to delete the page:
    1. Click on the page so that it's highlighted in green. Click "Delete" from the menu bar; or
    2. Right-click on the page you want to delete and select "Delete" from the menu.
  4. A window will appear and ask you to verify that you really want to delete the selected page. Click "Yes" to delete.

^ Back to top