NYU Alumni and Friends Connect

December 15, 2020

The Association for Jewish Studies announced the 2020 Jordan Schnitzer Book Award Winners and a majority of the winners are NYU alumni. These Department of Hebrew and Judaic Studies alumni won three out of the four categories:

  • Lynn Kaye (GSAS ’12) for Time in the Babylonian Talmud: Natural and Imagined Times in Jewish Law and Narrative in the category Biblical Studies, Rabbinics, and Jewish History & Culture in Antiquity
  • Joshua Teplitsky (GSAS ’10, ’12) for Prince of the Press: How One Collector Built History’s Most Enduring and Remarkable Jewish Library in the category Modern Jewish History and Culture: Europe and Israel
  • David S. Koffman (WAG ’04, GSAS ’04, ’11) for The Jews’ Indian: Colonialism, Pluralism, and Belonging in America in the category Social Science, Anthropology, and Folklore
Joshua Teplitsky also received the American Academy for Jewish Research's annual Salo Baron Prize for the best first book in Jewish studies for Prince of Press. Congratulations to all!

About the Association for Jewish Studies

The Association for Jewish Studies is a learned society and professional organization whose mission is to advance research and teaching in Jewish Studies at colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning, and to foster greater understanding of Jewish Studies scholarship among the wider public.

About the Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards

The AJS is pleased to announce the 2020 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards, made possible by generous support from The Harold & Arlene Schnitzer CARE Foundation and The Jordan Schnitzer Family Foundation/Jordan Schnitzer.

Launched in 2008, these awards have annually recognized and promoted outstanding scholarship in the field of Jewish Studies and honored scholars whose work embodies the best in the field: rigorous research, theoretical sophistication, innovative methodology, and excellent writing. The AJS annually awards one winner and one finalist in each of four categories. The categories rotate over a two-year cycle, for a total of eight categories. Each winner will receive $10,000 and each finalist will receive $2,000.