Looking for your next great book? Add these alumni-authored books that were released in 2016 to your reading list!

Warren Adler (ARTS ’47)

A high-caliber police procedural mystery from the acclaimed author Warren Adler, well-known for the iconic novel turned international box-office hit The War of the Roses. Detective Fiona Fitzgerald’s privileged upbringing in the nation’s capital and her intimate knowledge of its inner workings come in handy when Fran Miller, a top lobbyist and legal expert, turns up dead on Independence Day. It looks like suicide, but when the clues lead back to Mark Chancellor, the husband of Fiona’s best friend, things gets complicated.

Learn more about Red Herring here.

Photo: Warren Adler ©2017, Stonehouse Press, All Rights Reserved  

Judy Blume (STEINHARDT ’61) 

In this brilliant novel—her first for adults since Summer Sisters—Judy Blume takes us back to the 1950s and introduces us to the town of Elizabeth, New Jersey, where she herself grew up. Here she imagines and weaves together a vivid portrait of three generations of families, friends, and strangers, whose lives are profoundly changed during one winter. At the center of an extraordinary cast of characters are 15-year-old Miri Ammerman and her spirited single mother, Rusty. Their warm and resonant stories are set against the backdrop of a real-life tragedy that struck the town when a series of airplanes fell from the sky, leaving the community reeling. Gripping, authentic, and unforgettable, In the Unlikely Event has all the hallmarks of this renowned author’s deft narrative magic.

Learn more about In the Unlikely Event here.

Photo: © 2017 Penguin Random House 

Rita Mae Brown (WSC ’68) 

Set against the backdrop of America emerging from World War I, Cakewalk is an outrageous and affecting novel about a small town where ideas of sin and virtue, love and sex, men and women, politics and religion, can be as divided as the Mason-Dixon Line that runs right through it—and where there’s no problem that can’t be cured by a good yarn and an even better scotch. With her signature Southern voice, Rita Mae Brown deftly weaves generations of family stories into a spirited patchwork quilt of not-so-simple but joyously rich life.

Learn more about Cakewalk here.

Photo: © 2017 Penguin Random House 

William Lashner (LAW ’83) 

J.D. Scrbacek has just won the biggest trial of his career, but even as he crows to the press, his entire life blows sky-high. Was the bomb meant for him, or for his mobster client? In this seaside casino town where the tables run hot and the tensions run high, the odds say the attorney is a marked man. From the bestselling author of The Barkeep comes a raucous tale of reckoning, racketeering, and revenge.

Learn more about The Four-Night Run here.

Photo: © 2016 William Lashner. All Rights Reserved 

Sara Shepard (CAS ’99) 

From number one New York Times best-selling author Sara Shepard comes a thrilling new mystery series perfect for fans of Serial and Pretty Little Liars. Five years ago, high school senior Helena Kelly disappeared from her backyard in Dexby, Connecticut, never to be heard from again. Her family was left without answers–without any idea who killed Helena, or why.

Learn more about The Amateurs here.

Photo: © 2014, Sara C. Shepard