Congratulations NYU Alumni Golden Globe Honorees

Congratulations to the NYU alumni who received 2021 Golden Globe nominations and awards, and to the many more whose hard work brings stories to life on the silver and small screens!

Chloé Zhao (TSOA) became the first Asian woman to win the Golden Globe for best director for her film Nomadland. Read more in this New York Times article.

Best Picture - Drama

  • Mollye Asher (TSOA ’99, ’14), Producer, Nomadland - Winner
  • Douglas Urbanski (TSOA ’79), Producer, Mank

Best Picture - Musical/Comedy

  • Andy Samberg (TSOA ’00), Producer, Palm Springs

Best Director

  • Chloé Zhao (TSOA), Nomadland - Winner

Best Screenplay - Motion Picture

  • Chloé Zhao (TSOA), Writer, Nomadland

Best Actor - Motion Picture Musical/Comedy

  • Andy Samberg (TSOA ’00), Palm Springs

Best Drama Series

  • Misha Green (TSOA ’06), Executive Producer, Lovecraft Country

Best Musical/Comedy Series

  • Andrew Fleming (TSOA ’85), Executive Prodcuer, Emily in Paris
  • David West Read (TSOA ’10), Executive Producer, Schitt's Creek - Winner
  • Bill Wrubel (TSOA ’93), Executive Producer, Ted Lasso
  • Steve Yockey (TSOA ’08), Executive Producer, The Flight Attendant

Best Television Motion Picture

  • Steve McQueen (TSOA ’94), Executive Producer, Small Axe

And a Special Shoutout to these alumni for their part in producing Golden Globe-nominated work:

  • Cary Anderson (TSOA ’89), Co-Executive Producer, The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Best Picture - Drama
  • Joshua Bachove (TSOA ’06), Executive Producer, Line Producer, Minari - Best Picture - Foreign Language
  • Chad Beguelin (TSOA ’91, ’92), Executive Producer, The Prom - Best Picture - Musical/Comedy
  • David Jesteadt (TSOA ’07), Executive Producer, Wolfwalkers - Best Picture - Animated
  • Paul Kolsby (TSOA ’91), Co-Producer, Ozark - Best Drama Series
  • Peter Mavromates (TSOA ’84), Co-Producer, Mank - Best Picture - Drama
  • Joseph P. Reidy (TSOA ’76), Co-Producer, The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Best Picture - Drama
  • James Rodenhouse (TSOA ’14), Executive Producer, The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Best Picture - Drama
  • Matthew Tinker (TSOA ’09), Co-Producer, The Undoing - Best Television Motion Picture
  • Justin Wilkes (TSOA ’99), Co-Executive Producer, Hamilton - Best Picture - Musical/Comedy

There are so many amazing alumni creating can't-miss films and tv shows, sometimes it's hard to keep track! Did we miss someone? Please let us know!

Send an email to