Congratulations to the NYU alumni who received 2019 Golden Globe awards and nominations, and to the many more whose hard work brings stories to life on the silver and small screens. We're beaming with #VioletPride for the NYU alumni winners, nominees, and alumni host Andy Samberg (TSOA '00)! 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama

  • Lady Gaga (TSOA), A Star is Born

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in any Motion Picture

  • Mahershala Ali (TSOA '00), Green Book Winner
  • Timothee Chalamet (GAL), Beautiful Boy

Best Director - Motion Picture

  • Spike Lee (TSOA '82, HON '98), BlacKkKlansman

Best Original Song - Motion Picture

  • Lady Gaga (TSOA), A Star is Born – Winner

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series - Musical or Comedy

  • Kristen Bell (TSOA), The Good Place
  • Rachel Brosnahan (TSOA '12), The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Winner
  • Debra Messing (TSOA '93), Will and Grace

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series - Musical or Comedy

  • Donald Glover (TSOA '06), Atlanta

Best Motion Picture Drama

  • Spike Lee (TSOA '82, HON '98), Producer, BlacKkKlansman
  • Todd Phillips (TSOA '93), Producer, A Star is Born
  • Jane Rosenthal (GAL '77), Executive Producer, Bohemian Rhapsody – Winner

Best Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy

  • Steven Farneth (TSOA '07), Executive Producer, Green Book – Winner

Best Television Series - Musical or Comedy

  • Warren Bell (TSOA '84), Consulting Producer, The Kominsky Method – Winner
  • Roberto Benabib (TSOA), Executive Producer, Kidding
  • Daniel Goldfarb (TSOA '95, '97), Co-Producer, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • David Javerbaum (TSOA '95), Consulting Producer, The Kominsky Method – Winner
  • Dylan Morgan (TSOA '99), Co-Executive Producer, The Good Place
  • Elizabeth Sarnoff (TSOA '91), Consulting Producer, Barry
  • Matthew Shapiro (TSOA '06), Co-Producer, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Jen Statsky (TSOA '08), Co-Producer, Producer, Supervising Producer, The Good Place

Best Television Series - Drama

  • Micah Bloomberg (TSOA '04), Executive Producer, Homecoming
  • Alex Blumberg (TSOA '11), Executive Producer, Homecoming
  • Sam Esmail (TSOA '98), Executive Producer, Homecoming
  • Janet Mock (GSAS '06), Producer, Pose
  • Alicia Van Couvering (TSOA '05), Consulting Producer, Homecoming

Best Television Limited Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Michael De Luca (TSOA '95), Executive Producer, Escape at Dannemora
  • Steve Golin (TSOA), Executive Producer, The Alienest
  • E. Max Frye (TSOA '85), Executive Producer, The Alienest
  • Cary Fukunaga (TSOA), Executive Producer, The Alienest
  • Alex Metcalf (TSOA '84, '92), Consulting Producer, Sharp Objects
  • Marci Wiseman (LAW '89), Executive Producer Sharp Objects
  • Charles Layton (TSOA '73, STERN '85), Executive Producer, Sharp Objects
  • Bryan Zuriff (TSOA '92), Executive Producer, Escape at Dannemora

There are so many amazing alumni creating can't-miss content, sometimes it's hard to keep track! Did we miss someone? Please let us know! Send an email to