Under normal circumstances, NYU Athens serves as a site for research and scholarly engagement, and it hosts the College of Arts and Science Summer in Athens program. For Spring 2021, however, NYU Athens may be available as a Go Local location. A small selection of courses would be provided, to be determined based on the key needs of participating students. Please make sure to complete the Go Local interest form to indicate your interest in Going Local at NYU Athens, if you are eligible.

Click here to find general information about NYU Athens.

NYU Athens Spring 2021 Academic Calendar

Due to the recent university announcement regarding the change to NYU NY's academic calendar, we anticipate that the NYU Accra calendar will also change to align with the new proposed NY start and end dates. The calendar will be updated by mid-November.

  • Tuesday, January 26: Student Arrival
  • Wednesday, January 27: Mandatory Orientation
  • Thursday, January 28: NYU Athens Classes Begin
  • Wednesday, February 10: Last day to drop/add NYU Athens courses. Last day to drop NYU Athens courses and not receive a "W". Last day of active waitlists.
  • Monday, February 15: Classes meet according to Monday schedule
  • Thursday, February 18: Classes meet according to Monday schedule
  • Monday, March 15: No Classes - Local Holiday
  • Friday, March 19: No Classes - NY Holiday
  • Thursday, March 25: No Classes - Local Holiday
  • Wednesday, April 28: Last day to withdraw from an NYU Athens course (with a "W" on transcript). Last day to declare pass/fail grading option.
  • Monday, April 19: Classes meet according to Monday schedule
  • Friday, April 30 - Monday, May 3: No Classes - Local Holiday
  • Tuesday, May 11: Classes meet according to Thursday schedule; Last Day of NYU Athens Classes
  • Wednesday, May 12: Reading Day
  • Thursday, May 13 - Monday, May 17: Final Exams for NYU Athens Classes
  • Tuesday, May 18: Student Departure

NYU Athens Spring 2021 Courses

  • HEL-UA 9140: Topics in Modern Greek Culture : Digital Archaeology: Archaeological Data and Visualization
  • CORE-UA 9500 Cultures & Contexts: Topics Greece under Western Eyes