Established in 1987, the Distinguished Teaching Award (DTA) highlights New York University's commitment to teaching excellence and is given annually to selected outstanding members of the faculty. Recipients are presented with a research stipend.

Students, faculty, and alumni wishing to submit a nomination are encouraged to contact their School Representative. Students, faculty, administrators, staff, and alumni are invited to submit nominations to their school's DTA representative no later than Wednesday, December 8, 2021. Final nominations from school representatives to the NYU All-University Selection Committee are due on Wednesday, February 16, 2022.

DTA Teaching Awards

2021-2022 Distinguished Teaching Award Winners

2021-2022 Distinguished Teaching Award Winners (top left to bottom right): Donna Hallas, Clinical Professor, Rory Meyers College of Nursing; Sonia Marciano, Clinical Professor, Management & Organizations, Leonard N. Stern School of Business; Mara Mills, Associate Professor, Media, Culture, and Communication, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development; Michael Poles, Clinical Associate Professor, Medicine, Grossman School of Medicine; Mark Siegal, Professor, Biology and Genomics, Faculty of Arts and Science; Kenji Yoshino, Professor, School of Law.

Distinguished Teaching Award Video Series

Interviews with annual award winners who share successful classroom strategies along with the challenges they face.