Map showing New York and New Jersey


National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements Logo

New York University has been approved to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements.

A number of U.S. states and territories have entered into a voluntary agreement called the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) that establishes one set of national standards and regulations for offering certain out of state activities.

As a SARA participating member institution, New York University (NYU) is authorized pursuant to SARA to enroll students in online courses and non-classroom experiences (up to 10 students per site per program) in the SARA states and territories listed below. To learn of additional activities covered by SARA, please visit the Triggering Scenarios page.

Please note that not all activities outside of NYS are covered and certain programs leading to professional licensure may be subject to additional state professional licensing requirements, which are not covered by SARA.

Learn More About SARA

Learn more about these requirements, and what is and is not covered.

Current Participating Members

The following states, districts and territories are SARA participating members.

  • Alabama              
  • Alaska       
  • Arizona               
  • Arkansas              
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut               
  • Delaware               
  • District of Columbia       
  • Florida              
  • Georgia              
  • Hawaii        
  • Idaho               
  • Illinois               
  • Indiana                
  • Iowa        
  • Kansas        
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri 
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Puerto Rico
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas 
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virgin Islands
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming


  • California
  • American Samoa
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Guam
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Republic of Palau
  • Republic of the Marshall Islands


Titilayo Weech

Titilayo Weech
Director, Academic Authorization

Related Content

Additional Resources