Skip to All NYU Navigation Skip to Main Content

Distance Education and Continuing Education Units (CEUs)

Distance Education and Continuing Education (CE)

The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA)

The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) is a voluntary agreement among its member states and U.S. territories that establishes one set of national standards and regulations for offering postsecondary distance education courses and programs. SARA is administered by four regional educational compacts and overseen by NC-SARA.

New York University (NYU) is a SARA participating member institution and is authorized pursuant to SARA to enroll students in online courses, including continuing education (CE), and field experiences (up to ten students per site per program) in the SARA states and territories listed below. However, please note that certain programs leading to professional licensure may be subject to additional state professional licensing requirements, which are not covered by SARA. For more information about these requirements, please see the NC-SARA website.

Current SARA Member States, District & Territories

Alabama Maine Oklahoma
Alaska Maryland Oregon
Arizona Michigan Pennsylvania
Arkansas Minnesota Rhode Island
Colorado Mississippi South Carolina
Connecticut Missouri South Dakota
Delaware Montana Tennessee
District of Columbia
Nebraska Texas
Florida Nevada Utah
Hawaii New Hampshire Vermont
Idaho New Jersey
Illinois New Mexico Washington
Indiana New York West Virginia
Iowa North Carolina
Kansas North Dakota Wyoming
Kentucky Ohio Virgin Islands


NYU is also able to enroll students in online courses in California and Massachusetts. If your school would like to place a student in any other US territories (other than the Virgin Islands), please contact Lina Janusas, Multi-State Authorization Compliance Officer at