Accelerated Undergraduate Studies

NYU Accelerate

NYU encourages all students to chart their educational plans with care and precision. For most students this will resemble a traditional four-year model, providing ample space and time to experience an undergraduate degree that encompasses both breadth of a core curriculum and depth of a major. Many students, however, will choose to finish their degrees in fewer than four years because it makes the best educational, professional and financial sense for them. NYU Accelerate helps these students map pathways that take full advantage of NYU's global sites, internship opportunities, and honors programs. NYU Accelerate is not for everyone. But already nearly 20% of undergraduates are using AP, IB and January or Summer terms to finish early. NYU Accelerate highlights these options so that all students can make informed, educated decisions about their time at NYU. Interested in an accelerated degree? Ask your academic advisor today if finishing early makes sense for you.

Alternative Pathways to 128 Credits

Roads Year 1 Year 2 Summer or J-Term Year 3 Year 4

You have reached the 128 credits needed for graduation.✝

Traditional
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits
Enter with no AP or IB credits*
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
18 credits 18 credits 18 credits 18 credits 2 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits
Enter with 4 AP credits*
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
16 credits 16 credits 18 credits 18 credits 2 credits 18 credits 18 credits 18 credits + 4 AP credits
Enter with 8 AP or IB credits*
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
16 credits 18 credits 16 credits 18 credits 16 credits 18 credits 18 credits + 8 AP or IB credits

* Advanced placement, International Baccalaureate, or other advanced credits

✝ Most schools and programs require 128 credits to graduate. Students in programs that require more credits for graduation can consult with their school's acceleration advisor to best determine acceleration options.

Find Your Advisor

SCHOOL NAME EMAIL PHONE NOTES
Steinhardt Katherine Legnetti kate.legnetti@nyu.edu 212-998-5838 All academic advisors prepared to advise on acceleration
Arts and Science Richard Kalb richard.kalb@nyu.edu 212-998-8140 All academic advisors prepared to advise on acceleration
Stern   uc.advising@stern.nyu.edu 212-998-4020 All academic advisors prepared to advise on acceleration
Nursing Rachelle Rumph rachelle@nyu.edu 212-998-7386  
Social Work Robert Hawkins robert.hawkins@nyu.edu 212-998-5939  
Global Public Health Julie Avina julie.avina@nyu.edu 212-992-9940 No undergraduate program, but Julie can support students in the blended programs
Gallatin Office of Advising advising.gallatin@nyu.edu 212-998-7320 All academic advisors prepared to advise on acceleration
Gallatin Yevgeniya Traps yevgeniya.traps@nyu.edu 212-992-9838 First-year students
Gallatin Cyd Cipolla cyd.cipolla@nyu.edu 212-992-7758 Sophmore students
Gallatin Matthew Gregory matthew.gregory@nyu.edu 212-992-9830 Junior students
Gallatin Ben Brooks benjamin.brooks@nyu.edu 212-992-9830 Senior students
Gallatin Meredith Theeman meredith.theeman@nyu.edu 212-992-7746 Senior students
Gallatin Jamie Berthe jamieberth@nyu.edu 212-992-9828 MA students
Tandon Melinda Parham mparham@nyu.edu 646-997-3391 Students will need to work with their individual departments as well, since acceleration options differ by department
Tisch - Photography Niki Kekos niki.kekos@nyu.edu 212-998--1932  
Tisch - Photography
Patricia McKelvin patricia.mckelvin@nyu.edu 212-998-1926  
Tisch - Dramatic Writing
Julia Attanasio julia.attanasio@nyu.edu 212-998-1941  
Tisch - Performance Studies Laura Fortes laura.fortes@nyu.edu 212-998-1622  
Tisch - Drama MandaLeigh Blunt mandaleigh.blunt@nyu.edu 212-992-9352  
Tisch - Drama John Dietrich John.dietrich@nyu.edu 212-998-1846  
Tisch - Drama Jennifer Dolan jennifer.dolan@nyu.edu 212-998-1498  
Tisch - Drama Laura Hesse laura.hesse@nyu.edu 212-998-1847  
Tisch - Drama Scott Loane scott.loane@nyu.edu 212-998-1872  
Tisch - Drama Dennis O'Connell dennis.oconnel@nyu.edu 212-998-1842  
Tisch - Drama Amanda Stumpf amanda.stumpf@nyu.edu 212-998-1838  
Tisch - Game Design
Kevin Spain kevin.spain@nyu.edu 646-997-0707  
Tisch - Cinema Studies  Melanie Daly melanie.daly@nyu.edu 212-998-1594  
Tisch - Recorded Music Alan Watson alanowatson@nyu.edu 212-992-6636  
Tisch - Recorded Music
Brianne Hayes bp32@nyu.edu 212-992-8408  
Tisch - Film and Television Daria Kendus daria.kendus@nyu.edu 212-992-9302  
Tisch - Dance Greer McKeown greer.mckeown@nyu.edu 212-998-1814  
Tisch - Film and Television Wendy Kaplan wkg1@nyu.edu 212-998-1714  
Tisch - Film and Television Gay Abel-Bey ga5@nyu.edu 212-992-9331  
Tisch - Film and Television Julie Sloane julie.sloane@nyu.edu 212-998-1711