Alumni from across the university earn their industry's top honors.

Four alumni from New York University earned 2023 Grammy Awards – including the top prize of Record of the Year – at the 65th Annual Grammy Awards presented Feb. 5, 2023 at the Arena in Los Angeles.

The winners came from more than 30 nominees that stretched across categories and genres, and included songwriters, engineers and producers. (Many others with NYU affiliations contributed additional nominated projects.)

Blake Slatkin (Gallatin) won the Record of the Year Award as producer for About Damn Time by Lizzo.

Jazz icon Wayne Shorter (Steinhardt ‘56, HON ‘10) won Best Improvised Jazz Solo Award for Endangered Species. Shorter now has 12 Grammy Awards.

Pianist, composer and orchestrator Steven Feifke (Steinhardt ‘13) shared the award for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album with collaborator Bijon Watson for Generation Gap Jazz Orchestra.

Sean Patrick Flahaven (TSOA ‘97) served as producer of Into the Woods (2022 Broadway Cast Recording), which was honored as Best Musical Theater Album.

There were several other NYU connections in the star-studded ceremony. Andrew Watt (Steinhardt, TSOA) co-wrote "Patient Number 9," the title track on Ozzy Osbourne’s record, winner of the Best Rock Album Award.

Jessie Montgomery (Steinhardt) contributed compositions to Works by Florence Price, Jessie Montgomery, Valerie Coleman, winner of the Best Orchestral Performance Award.

And the newest Grammy, Best Song for Social Change, was given to Shervin Hajipour for Baraye. The Special Merit Award, presented by First Lady Jill Biden, was proposed by Steinhardt Professor Carlos Chirinos.

Press Contact

Peggy McGlone
Peggy McGlone
(212) 998-6829