Ten alumni from NYU's Tisch School of the Arts; Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development; and College of Arts and Science took home Emmy awards

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences

Ten alumni from New York University earned Emmy Awards – including the top awards for drama, comedy and variety series – at the 74th awards ceremony in Los Angeles on Sept. 12. The awards include both Creative Arts Emmy Awards, which were awarded September 3 and 4, and Primetime Emmy Awards, which were announced on Monday, September 12 in a ceremony at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los Angeles. More than 100 NYU alumni from seven schools were nominated for TV's biggest prize.

Susan Soon He Stanton (TSOA ’03) was honored for her work as supervising producer HBO's Succession, winner of Outstanding Drama Series.

Bill Wrubel (TSOA ’93) won for his role as executive producer of Apple TV+’s Ted Lasso, named the year’s Outstanding Comedy Series.

Jeremy Tchaban (TSOA ’03) and Matt Passet (CAS ’03) were honored for their roles as co-executive producer and producer of HBO’s Last Week Tonight With John Oliver, which won its seventh consecutive award as Outstanding Variety Talk Series.

Charlie Redd (TSOA ’14), a senior writer on Last Week Tonight, won the Emmy for Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series.

 Erin Doyle (STEINHARDT ’07) was honored as a producer of Saturday Night Live, which took home the award for Outstanding Variety Sketch Series.  

Mark Kamine (TSOA ’92) took home an award as co-executive producer of  HBO’s The White Lotus, named the Outstanding Limited Series.

Several more alumni were honored in key design and technical categories. Jordan Jacobs (TSOA ’91, ’96) and Rich Murray (TSOA ’04) were part of the team that won the Outstanding Production Design for a Narrative Program (Half-Hour) for Only Murders in the Building.

Ryan Cole MPSE (STEINHARDT ’07) won for Outstanding Sound Editing for a Comedy or Drama Series (One Hour) for Stranger Things.

74th Emmy® Awards Winners

Outstanding Drama Series
Susan Soon He Stanton (TSOA ’03), Supervising Producer

Outstanding Comedy Series
Ted Lasso
Bill Wrubel (TSOA ’93), Executive Producer

Oustanding Limited Series
The White Lotus
Mark Kamine (TSOA ’92), Co-Executive Producer

Outstanding Variety Talk Series
Last Week Tonight with John OIiver
Matt Passet (CAS ’03), Producer
Jeremy Tchaban (TSOA ’03), Co-Executive Producer

Outstanding Variety Sketch Series
Saturday Night Live
Erin Doyle (STEINHARDT ’07), Producer

Outstanding Production Design For A Narrative Program (Half-Hour)
Only Murders in the Building (“True Crime”)
Jordan Jacobs (TSOA ’91, ’96), Art Director
Rich Murray (TSOA ’04), Set Decorator

Outstanding Sound Editing For A Comedy Or Drama Series (One Hour)
Stranger Things ("Chapter Seven: The Massacre At Hawkins Lab")
Ryan Cole, MPSE (STEINHARDT ’07), Sound Editor

Outstanding Writing For A Variety Series
Last Week Tonight With John Oliver
Charlie Redd (TSOA ’14), Senior Writer

Press Contact

Peggy McGlone
Peggy McGlone
(212) 998-6829