Alumni and faculty from across the university are nominated for the 65th annual Grammy Awards being presented February 5, 2023

 The NYU flag flies from a campus building

More than 30 NYU alumni and faculty were honored with nominations for the 65th Annual Grammy Awards, to be presented Feb. 5, 2023. The nominees stretch across 24 categories, covering performance, songwriting, producing and engineering. (Many others with NYU affiliations worked on parts of other nominated projects.) The awards will be broadcast on CBS and Paramount+ on February 5, 2023.  Click here for the full list of nominations.

Record of the Year

  • Johnathan Turner (STEINHARDT), Engineer/Mixer, The Heart Part 5
  • Blake Slatkin (GALLATIN), Producer, About Damn Time

Album of the Year

  • Nija Charles (TSOA), Songwriter, About Damn Time
  • Johnathan Turner, (STEINHARDT), Engineer/Mixer, Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers
  • Blake Slatkin (GALLATIN), Producer, Songwriter, Special
  • Emily Warren (TSOA ’15), Songwriter, Special
  • Leon Michels (STEINHARDT), Producer, Songwriter, Good Morning Gorgeous

Song Of The Year

  • Blake Slatkin (GALLATIN) About Damn Time

Best Rock Song

  • Andrew Watt (STEINHARDT, TSOA), Songwriter, Patient Number 9

Best Alternative Music Performance

  • Karen O. (TSOA ‘01), Spitting Off the Edge of the World

Best Alternative Music Album

  • Karen O. (TSOA ‘01), Cool It Down  

Best Improvised Jazz Solo

  • Wayne Shorter (STEINHARDT ’56 HON ’10) Endangered Species

Best Jazz Instrumental Album

  • Wayne Shorter (STEINHARDT ’56 HON ’10), Live at the Detroit Jazz Festival

Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album

  • Steven Feifke (STEINHARDT ‘13), Generation Gap Jazz Orchestra

Best Children’s Album Music

  • Alisha Gaddis (TSOA ’03) Los Fabulosos

Best Musical Theater Album

  • Samantha Williams (STEINHARDT ’12) Principal Vocalist, Caroline, Or Change
  • Lawrence Manchester (STEINHARDT ’97) Producer, Caroline, Or Change
  • Tony Kushner (TSOA ’84), Lyricist, Caroline, Or Change
  • Sean Patrick Flahaven (TSOA ’97), Producer, Into The Woods (2022 Broadway Cast Recording)
  • Billy Crystal (TSOA’70 ’16) Principal Vocalist, Mr. Saturday Night
  • Sean Patrick Flahaven (TSOA ’97), Producer, Mr. Saturday Night
  • Michael R. Jackson (TSOA ’03 ‘05) Composer, Lyricist, Producer, A Strange Loop
  • Rona Siddiqui (TSOA ’12), Producer, A Strange Loop

Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media

  • Lady Gaga (TSOA), Top Gun: Maverick

Best Song Written for Visual Media

  • Lady Gaga (TSOA), Songwriter, Hold My Hand

Best Score Soundtrack For Video Games and Other Interactive Media

  • Austin Wintory (STEINHARDT), Composer, Aliens: Fireteam Elite

Best Historical Album

  • Jonathan Sklute (STEINHARDT '00), Compilation producer, To Whom It May Concern

Songwriter of the Year, Non-Classical

  • Nija Charles (TSOA)

Best Classical Compendium

  • Sean Patrick Flahaven (TSOA ’97), Producer, The Lost Birds

Best Music Video

  • Jason Baum (TSOA ’08) Video producer, The Heart Part 5

Best Music Film

  • Michael D. Ratner (TSOA 14) Video director, Our World

Best Audio Book, Narration and Storytelling Recording

  • Ahmir "Questlove" Thompson (TSOA Faculty) Music Is History

Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical

  • Q-Tip  (TSOA Faculty), Engineer, Black Radio III

Best Immersive Audio Album

  • Jim Anderson (TSOA Faculty), Immersive Mix Engineer, Picturing the Invisible – Focus 1

Best Children’s Music Album

  • Ebonie Smith (STEINHARDT ‘10), Producer, Red Set Go! 

Press Contact

Peggy McGlone
Peggy McGlone
(212) 998-6829