The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected eight New York University faculty as fellows.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) has elected eight New York University faculty as fellows: Cristina M. Alberini, a professor in the Center for Neural Science; Richard R.W. Brooks, a professor in the School of Law; Oskar Eustis, a professor in the Tisch School of the Arts; Sherry Glied, dean of the Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service; Robert I. Grossman, chief executive officer of NYU Langone Health and dean of NYU Grossman School of Medicine; Fred Moten, a professor in the Tisch School of the Arts; author Salman Rushdie, a Distinguished Writer in Residence at the Carter Journalism Institute; and Bambi B. Schieffelin, professor emerita in the Department of Anthropology.

“We are celebrating a depth of achievements in a breadth of areas,” said David Oxtoby, president of the American Academy. “These individuals excel in ways that excite us and inspire us at a time when recognizing excellence, commending expertise, and working toward the common good is absolutely essential to realizing a better future.”

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Logo

Among the other 261 AAAS members elected this year are author Sandra Cisneros, actor Glenn Close, New York Times critic Wesley Morris, and singer-songwriter Buffy Sainte-Marie.

The complete list of individuals elected in 2022, including 37 International Honorary Members from 16 countries, is available on the AAAS website.

Cristina M. Alberini focuses on the biological mechanisms of memory, with particular attention on the identification and characterization of the biological mechanisms that accompany long-term memory formation, storage, and retrieval. Her recent research has shown how experiences early in life have an impact on the brain’s biological and functional development, revealing how learning and memory abilities may vary, depending on the nature of these individual experiences.

Richard R.W. Brooks, Emilie M. Bullowa Professor of Law, focuses his scholarship on contracts and agency, among other forms of business and social organization. Brooks has published numerous books and articles that analyze behavior through the lens of economics, custom, and law. His most recent book, Saving the Neighborhood: Racially Restrictive Covenants, Law, and Social Norms (Harvard University Press), co-authored with Carol Rose, examines the history and enduring legacy of racially restrictive property agreements (or racial covenants), which the Supreme Court ruled unenforceable in 1948.

Oskar Eustis, a professor in the Tisch School of the Arts’ Rita and Burton Goldberg Department of Dramatic Writing, is the artistic director of the Public Theater. Dedicated to the development of new plays as both a director and a producer, Eustis directed the New York premiere of Rinne Groff’s The Ruby Sunrise and Hamlet as well as Groff’s Compulsion with Mandy Patinkin, all at the Public. His directing credits include the world premiere of Paula Vogel’s The Long Christmas Ride Home and Homebody/Kabul as well as Angels in America, Part I: Millennium Approaches and Angels in America, Part II: Perestroika.

Sherry Glied, dean and professor of Public Service at NYU’s Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, conducts research on health policy reform and mental health care policy. Her published works include Chronic Condition: Why Health Reform Fails (Harvard University Press) and Better But Not Well: Mental Health Policy in the U.S. since 1950 (Johns Hopkins University Press), co-authored with Richard Frank. 

Robert I. Grossman has been chief executive officer of NYU Langone Health and dean of NYU School of Medicine, which was renamed in his honor in 2019 as NYU Grossman School of Medicine, since 2007. In his tenure, he has led an initiative of providing tuition-free medical education for all current and future students in its MD degree program and curated a new approach to medical education, which emphasizes clinical training from the beginning of medical school and includes a three-year MD program. Most recently, Grossman was the driving force behind the creation of NYU Long Island School of Medicine, offering full-tuition scholarships with an accelerated three-year curriculum exclusively devoted to training primary care physicians.

Fred Moten, a professor in the Department of Performance Studies at the Tisch School of the Arts, teaches courses and conducts research in Black Studies, performance studies, poetics, and critical theory. His published works include In the Break: The Aesthetics of the Black Radical Tradition (University of Minnesota Press), a three-volume theoretical treatise, Consent Not to be a Single Being (Duke University Press), and The Feel Trio (Letter Machine Editions).

Salman Rushdie, who joined the Carter Journalism Institute faculty in 2015, is the author of numerous novels, including The Golden HouseTwo Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight NightsGrimusMidnight’s ChildrenShameThe Satanic VersesHaroun and the Sea of StoriesThe Moor’s Last SighThe Ground Beneath Her FeetFuryShalimar the ClownThe Enchantress of FlorenceLuka and the Fire of Life, and Quichotte.

Bambi B. Schieffelin, a linguistic anthropologist, studies the intertwined dynamics of cultural and linguistic change and the factors that motivate such change, including the developmental, generational, and sociohistorical. Her published works include Acquiring Conversational Competence (Routledge and Kegan Paul), co-authored with Elinor Ochs, The Give and Take of Everyday Life: Language, Socialization of Kaluli Children (Cambridge University Press), and Language Ideologies (Oxford University Press), co-edited with Kathryn Woolard and Paul Kroskrity.

AAAS members have included: Benjamin Franklin (1781), Alexander Hamilton (1791), Ralph Waldo Emerson (1864), Maria Mitchell (1848), Charles Darwin (1874), Albert Einstein (1924), Robert Frost (1931), Margaret Mead (1948), Milton Friedman (1959), Martin Luther King, Jr. (1966), Antonin Scalia (2003), Judy Woodruff (2012), John Legend (2017), Viet Thanh Nguyen (2018), James Fallows (2019), Joan Baez (2020), and Sanjay Gupta (2021).

Alternate media contact:
Alison Franklin,


Press Contact

James Devitt
James Devitt
(212) 998-6808