Winners recognized for excellence in producing for Best Musical winner "The Band's Visit," Best Revival of a Musical winner "Once On This Island," and Best Revival of a Play winner "Angels in America"

Tony Awards trophy
Courtesy of the American Theatre Wing

Twelve NYU alumni from the Tisch School of the Arts, the Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development, the Stern School of Business, the Gallatin School of Individualized Study, the School of Law, and the College of Dentistry won Tony Awards last night, recognizing excellence in producing, writing, and acting.  The awards, presented by the Broadway League and the American Theater Wing, and hosted by Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, were held at Radio City Music Hall.

In addition, a Special Tony Award was presented to John Leguizamo (Tisch) for his body of work and for his commitment to the theatre, bringing diverse stories and audiences to Broadway for three decades.

Now in their 72nd year, the American Theatre Wing’s Annual Antoinette Perry “Tony” Awards® honor excellence on Broadway in 26 competitive categories. The nominees are selected by an independent committee of 43 theater professionals appointed by the Tony Awards Administration Committee. Tony Award winners are selected by 842 designated Tony voters comprised of producers, performers, and other industry professionals.

NYU alumni winners for 2018 include the following:

Best Musical

The Band’s Visit

Wendy Federman '79 (Stern), producer
Heni Koenigsberg '74 (Steinhardt), producer
Marc Platt ’82 (Law), producer

Best Revival of a Musical

Once On This Island

Hunter Arnold ’13 (Stern), producer
Ken Davenport ’94 (Tisch), producer
Dr. Mojgan Faijaram ’89 (Dentistry), producer

Shanna Silva '92 (WSUC)

Steven Silva '87 (WSUC)
Jeff Wise ’09 (Tisch), producer

Best Revival of a Play

Angels in America

Wendy Federman '79 (Stern), producer
Barbara Whitman ’88 (Gallatin), producer

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical
Ari’el Stachel ’13 (Tisch), The Band’s Visit

Best Scenic Design of a Play
Christine Jones ’92 (Tisch), Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts One and Two

Best Book of a Musical
Itamar Moses ’03 (Tisch), The Band’s Visit, author

Best Scenic Design of a Musical
David Zinn '91 (Tisch), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Musical

Read more on the Tony Awards website.

Press Contact

Cheryl Feliciano
Cheryl Feliciano
(212) 998-6865