Winners recognized for excellence in producing for Best Musical Winner "Dear Evan Hansen," as well as lighting design and scenic design for "Natasha, Pierre, and the Great Comet of 1812."

Tony Award

Seven NYU alumni from the Tisch School of the Arts (TSOA), the Stern School of Business, and the Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development won Tony Awards last night, recognizing excellence in producing, lighting design, and scenic design. The awards, presented by the Broadway League and the American Theater Wing and hosted by Kevin Spacey, were held at Radio City Music Hall.

Now in their 71st year, the American Theatre Wing’s Annual Antoinette Perry “Tony” Awards honor excellence on Broadway in 24 competitive categories. Winners are selected by 846 Tony voters comprised of producers, performers, and other industry professionals. NYU alumni winners for 2017 include the following:

Hunter Arnold (Stern ’13), Caitlin Clements (TSOA ’13), Carole Rothman (TSOA ’72), and Molly Smith (TSOA ’02), producers, for Best Musical, Dear Evan Hansen

Heni Koenigsberg (Steinhardt ’74), producer, for Best Revival of a Musical, Hello, Dolly!

Bradley J. King (Tisch ’05), for Best Lighting Design of a Musical, Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812

Mimi L. Lien (Tisch ’03), for Best Scenic Design of a Musical, Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812

This year’s ceremony marks the fourth consecutive Tony award for Koenigsberg, having won previously in the category of Best Revival of a Play for A View From the Bridge, Skylight and Raisin in the Sun. Arnold took home his second Tony statuette last night, having won in 2013 in the category of Best Musical for Kinky Boots. For more information about the Tony Awards, visit here.

Press Contact

Shonna Keogan
Shonna Keogan
(212) 998-6796