charged with making a recommendation to the T-FSC on possible university divestment from fossil-fuel companies, as urged by the student organization NYU Divest


Chair: Jeff Goodwin
Members: Adam Becker, Allen Mincer, Maurizio Porfiri, Arvind Rajagopal, Jim Uleman

Resolution regarding Divestment

At the May 7, 2015 meeting of the T-Faculty Senators Council, the Council approved the following resolution:


BE IT RESOLVED, the T-FSC urges the President and Board of Trustees of NYU to begin a gradual and financially prudent divestment, extending over a period of no more than five years, of its investments in both directly held and commingled accounts in companies that receive more than 10 percent of their revenue from coal sales. In addition, we urge the Trustees to create an Advisory Board on Environmentally and Socially Responsible Investing—consisting of students, faculty, and administrators—to advise it on the appropriateness of further fossil fuel and other divestment options as well as investment options in renewable energy sources.

Resolution regarding Divestment (May 7, 2015)