About the University Senate

Chairpersoned by the President, the University Senate is the chief deliberative body of the University for the discussion of all matters of University policy and practice in cases in which two or more schools have a substantial interest. For example, the Senate is empowered to set each year's academic calendar and discuss certain University-wide policies.

The Senate's membership consists of members of the Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty Senators Council; Full-Time Continuing Contract Faculty Senators Council; Deans Council; Student Senators Council; senators elected by the Administrative Management Council; and designated officers of the University.

AMC Senate representation

The constituency of the AMC elects seven Senators and 13 Alternate Senators in May to serve for the following two years. The Chairperson of the AMC holds one Senate seat for the duration of his/her term in office. The Vice-chairperson holds the alternate position for the Chairperson. Committee assignments are noted with each Senator's name.

Senator AMC Unit Term Committee
Cassandra Bizzaro Stern 2020-22 Organization & Governance
Noah Branman UDAR 2021-22 Alternate
Organization & Governance
Regina Drew URPA 2020-22 Public Affairs
Daniel Esquivel
NYU Los Angeles
Academic Affairs
Danielle Hartounian Gallatin 2021-23 Alternate Special Initiatives
Daniel Holub FAS 2020-22 Alternate Academic Affairs
Norma Kenigsberg NYU IT 2021-23 Community Standards
Timothy Lopez Campus Operations 2021-23 Alternate Public Affairs
Cassandra Louie NYU IT 2020-22 Alternate Special Initiatives
Michael McCaw Provost Division 2021-22 Executive
Carrie Meconis Tisch 2021-23 Community Standards
Stevin Azo Michels Tisch 2021-23 Alternate Community Standards
Nicole Najera NYU IT 2021-23 Alternate Special Initiatives
Jocelyn Ochoa Dentistry 2021-23 Alternate Financial Affairs
D Simmons Jendayi
FAS 2021-22 Alternate Executive
Nicholas Reed FAS 2021-22 Alternate Community Standards
Joseph Sierra FO&T 2020-22 Financial Affairs
Marcos Suazo NYU IT 2020-22 Alternate Organization & Governance
Juan Tie Campus Operations 2020-22 Alternate Financial Affairs
Rebekah Thornhill Student Affairs 2021-23 Alternate Special Initiatives

Each year, the AMC's Senate Financial Affairs Committee Senator works in partnership with the AMC Chair and Benefits Committee Chair to submit a letter for financial priority recommendations that impact the administrator community.

Ad hoc and special committee representation

At the invitation of the University, the AMC has appointed representatives to a variety of ad hoc and special University-wide committees.

Committee Representative(s)
Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Sexual Misconduct
Isabella Villacampa
Community Connections Committee Cassandra Bizzaro
Carrie Meconis
MLK Week Committee Patti Pearson
Sangeeta Bhojwani
NYU BeTogether Staff and Administrator Engagement Committee Noah Branman
D Simmons Jendayi
NYU Reads Selection Committee Curtis Spence
Outstanding Awards Review Committee Jessica Spera
Protection of Minors on Campus Steering Committee
Justine Kelly-Fierro
Diane Sheehan
Retirement Plan Investment Committee
Daniel Holub
Superblock Stewardship Advisory Committee
Barbara Albrecht
Sustainability Advisory & Working Group Juan Tie
Task Force on University Calendar Guidlines D Simmons Jendayi
Marni Vasallo
TFSC Administration & Technology Committee
Norma Kenigsberg
Women's Leadership Forum Cassandra Bizzaro
UHR Community Service Committee
Carrie Meconis
Michael McCaw
Cassandra Bizzaro
University Task Force on Affordability
Carrie Prendergast