The AMC conducts elections every spring for Representative, Senator, and Officer (Chairperson, Vice-chairperson, Secretary, and Treasurer) positions. Representatives and Senators are elected for two-year terms. Officers are elected for one-year terms.


Administrative Management Council Representative positions are chosen by administrators within their respective units. For some central administrative units, this could be multiple departments and subdivisions, while schools would include administrators from their academic departments. The number of Representatives and Alternate Representatives per unit is determined by the number of administrators within a particular unit as defined by the AMC Bylaws.

What Representatives do

Attend meetings

Meetings are held once a month (usually Tuesdays from 9 - 10:30 a.m) from October to May. Representatives are expected to attend the monthly meeting and, if unable to attend, should ask an Alternate Representative to attend in his/her place. Representatives who miss more than three meetings, without sending an alternate, may be removed from office.

Vote at meetings

The role of the Representative is to represent the constituents from their respective division on all voting matters which can include issues such as personnel policies, salary considerations, benefit changes, or any other topics relative to NYU Administrators.

Inform constituents

Representatives are also responsible for informing their constituents of the issues covered at each Council meeting and obtaining feedback when necessary.

Other opportunities

In addition to the responsibilities above, Representatives are provided opportunities to participate on standing or ad-hoc committees of the AMC, and to network with colleagues around the university.

^ Back to top


The Administrative Management Council is represented on the University Senate by seven Senators. The constituency of the AMC elects six of the seven University Senators. Three of the Senators are elected each May to serve a two-year term. The Chairperson of the AMC holds the seventh Senate seats for the duration of his/her term in office. There are also nine Alternate Senators positions. Four positions are filled each Spring by those individuals who obtained the most votes in the Senate election without winning a seat, to serve a two-year term. The Vice-chairperson of the AMC holds the final alternate position in support of the Chairperson.

What Senators do

The Senators will attend all Senate meetings and shall convey to the Senate the expressed interests and concerns of the Administrative Management Council. The Senators shall attend all meetings of the Council and present, at each Council meeting, a report on the actions and activities of the Senate.

The Senator who serves on the Senate Financial Affairs Committee will serve as an ex-officio member of the Personnel and Benefits Committee of the Administrative Management Council. This Senator must attend the Personnel and Benefits Committee meetings to accurately present and defend, to the Senate Financial Affairs Committee, all benefits and personnel policies recommended by the Council.

Alternate Senators shall serve as liaisons to the University Senate and its committees and shall convey to this body the express interests, concerns and decisions of the Administrative Management Council. The alternate Senators shall attend Senate meetings, and in the absence of the Senator, for whom they are the alternate, shall exercise the privileges of the absent Senator in accordance with Senate Bylaws. Alternate Senators shall give periodic reports to the Council as determined by the Council Chairperson. The alternate Senator(s), if not an AMC representative, is allowed to participate at the monthly meetings, but may only vote if the Senator they represent is absent.

AMC Senators are also members of the AMC Executive Committee and are invited to attend monthly meetings hosted by the AMC Chairperson.

Elections and eligibility

Unlike the Representative position that allows for any administrator to self-nominate, Senator positions have specific requirements to be an eligible candidate. Eligibility is as follows:

  1. Nominees shall be drawn from among the constituency of the Administrative Management Council providing that they are current or formerly elected members of the Council who have served in good standing within the past two years.
  2. Non-Council members who have actively served on AMC committees within the past two years are also eligible.
  3. All candidates will be required to prepare a written statement regarding their goals and functions as a Senator. The candidates shall be expected to attend the end-of-year annual meeting in May where they will be required to give a brief statement about their candidacy.
  4. A candidate who cannot attend the annual meeting may designate someone, with the approval of the Chairperson of the Nominations and Elections Committee, to present his or her statement. The candidates’ written statements and ballots shall be made available to the constituents by a method approved by the Council within one week following the May annual meeting.

^ Back to top


The Administrative Management Council is led by four annually elected officers: Chairperson, Vice-chairperson, Secretary, and Treasurer. Officers are elected each April for a one year term, with a maximum of two consecutive terms. The functions of each officer are described in the AMC Bylaws.

Elections and eligibility

The Council shall annually elect its Chairperson, Vice-chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer and such other officers as it may determine necessary. The Nominations and Elections Committee shall develop a list of nominees for each office that shall be drawn from the Representatives and Alternate Representatives who are interested in becoming an officer of the Council.

The subcommittee shall present the list of nominees for each office for a vote at the April Council meeting. No name may appear on the ballot for more than one office. The election can be by closed ballot or a show of hands. No person may be elected to the same office for more than two consecutive terms. New officers will officially take office on the first of July following the May meeting.

^ Back to top