The DeSantis Distinguished Representative Award

The AMC DeSantis Distinguished Representative Award recognizes an AMC leader’s exemplary service, active contributions, and sustained leadership within the Administrative Management Council to represent administrators in University governance and advancing the AMC’s mission over a sustained period of time. 

A working group of past and current AMC Chairpersons and Vice-chairpersons determine award recipients considering the following criteria: 10+ years of active engagement in the AMC, notable accomplishments as an elected AMC leader, outstanding service on an AMC standing committee(s) or special initiative(s), and tangible evidence in increasing participation, representation, and value-add offerings within the AMC. 

The award was created in 2018 and named after the inaugural recipient Mr. John DeSantis, who proudly served the AMC for over four decades as a founding member, an active Representative, a four-time AMC Chairperson, and an AMC Senator for numerous terms.

John DeSantis

John DeSantis

Past Awardees

2021 Winner: Kristi Schwindt Ramos, Arts & Science
2020 Winner: Norma Kenigsberg, NYU IT
2019 Winner: Regina Drew, URPA
2018 Winner: John DeSantis, Arts & Science

" "

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 
Administrator and Staff Award

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Administrator and Staff Award is presented to one administrator and one union staff who embodies what it means to be an inclusive and just leader, including a proven history of respectfully serving their teammates at all levels. In addition, the recipients of this award demonstrate a commitment to enriching and serving their communities, as exemplified by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Working Group Lead

D Simmons Jendayi, Arts & Science

Black and white photo of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. speaking into a microphone next to the text Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Admin & Staff Award

Past Awardees

2023 Winners: Isabella Rivera, Liberal Studies, and Francheska Jimenez, Center for Data Science 
2022 Winner: Karin Burrell, Arts & Science