Date: October 4, 2023
To:  NYU Faculty
From: Interim Provost Georgina Dopico

NYU’s Office of the Provost is pleased to announce the creation of a new Faculty Awards team within the Center for Faculty Advancement. The goals of the office will be to celebrate the many achievements of faculty members who have earned prestigious awards and honors in their respective fields and to support other faculty members who merit such recognition.

As a first step, we have convened a Faculty Awards Task Force, co-chaired by Vice Provost Charlton McIlwain and Counselor to the President Kristie Patten. Under their leadership, the Task Force will, over the coming months, produce a set of recommendations that will inform the work of the new Faculty Awards team. We are grateful to the many faculty members throughout the University who identified the need for such an initiative. And I am especially grateful to the members of the Task Force, composed of distinguished faculty from across NYU schools and administrative staff from the Office of the Provost, for their contributions to this effort.

The members of the Faculty Awards Task Force are:

Charlton McIlwain (Co-Chair), Vice Provost for Faculty Engagement and Development (Office of the Provost)
Kristie Patten (Co-Chair), Counselor to the President (Office of the President)
Susan Antón, Vice Dean for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Faculty Development and Divisional Dean-at-large (Arts & Science)
Joy Bergelson, Dorothy Schiff Professor of Genomics (Arts & Science)
Fred Carl, Co-Associate Dean of Faculty (Tisch)
Stephen Duncombe, Professor (Gallatin)
Nicole Fleetwood, James Weldon Johnson Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication (Steinhardt)
Gabe Friedman, Senior Project Lead (Office of the Provost)
Debra Furr-Holden, Dean (Global Public Health)
David W. Garland, Arthur T. Vanderbilt Professor of Law (Law)
Sherry Glied, Dean, (Wagner)
Neil Guterman, Paulette Goddard Professor of Social Work (Silver)
Terrance Hayes, Professor of Creative Writing in the Department of English (Arts & Science)
Usheevii King, Assistant Vice Provost, Faculty Engagement and Development (Office of the Provost)
Okhee Lee, Professor Of Science Education (Steinhardt)
Melissa Lucas-Ludwig, Director, Business and Operations, Center for Faculty Advancement (Office of the Provost)
Michael McCaw, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Appointments (Office of the Provost)
Jenny McPhee, Clinical Assistant Professor of Creative Writing (SPS)
Farooq Niazi, Senior Director Of Provostial Research Program (Office of the Provost)
Arlie Petters, Provost (NYU Abu Dhabi)
Ted Rappaport, Professor Of Computer Science And Electrical Engineering (Tandon)
Johannes Stroebel, David S. Loeb Professor of Finance (Stern)
Joanna Waley-Cohen, Provost (NYU Shanghai)
Hiro Yoshikawa, Professor Of Applied Psychology (Steinhardt)