DATE: November 15, 2021
TO: The NYU Law School Community
FROM: NYU President Andrew Hamilton and NYU Provost Katherine Fleming

As you are aware, Trevor Morrison will be stepping down as Dean of the Law School at the end of this academic year, after nine years of dedicated service to our community. The Search Committee for the next Dean of the Law School has been constituted as follows:

Deborah N. Archer
Professor of Clinical Law

Rachel E. Barkow
Vice Dean and Charles Seligson Professor of Law

Richard R.W. Brooks
Emilie M. Bullowa Professor of Law

Adam B. Cox
Robert A. Kindler Professor of Law

David W. Garland
Arthur T. Vanderbilt Professor of Law and Professor of Sociology

Sara Greaves ‘22
Law School Student Bar Association President

Helen Hershkoff
Herbert M. and Svetlana Wachtell Professor of Constitutional Law and Civil Liberties

Lindsay Kendrick
Law School Dean of Students and Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion

The Honorable Raymond J. Lohier, Jr. ‘91
Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
Trustee, NYU School of Law Foundation

Antonio Merlo
Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Science

Ellen Schall ‘72
Senior Presidential Fellow

David Tanner ‘84
Managing Director, Three Mile Capital LLC
Chair, NYU School of Law Foundation

We are pleased that Professor Rachel Barkow has agreed to serve as the chair of the committee and are grateful to all the committee for taking on this important work.

We plan to convene the committee soon in order to task it with recommending to us several unranked candidates for the deanship. The committee welcomes nominations and other suggestions for their consideration. To that end, all members of the Law School community should feel free to contact Professor Barkow or any other member of the committee.

We hope you will join us in wishing the committee success in this important endeavor and thanking the members for their service to the Law School.