Date: September 12, 2022
TO: The NYU Community
FROM: Andrew Hamilton and Gigi Dopico

Every eight years, the University participates in a self-study and review as part of our re-accreditation by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE). We value these opportunities; they permit the University to reaffirm our adherence to the rigorous Middle States accreditation standards; to reflect on our mission and grow as a university; and to secure feedback from peers at other institutions.

Our work on the self-study is now beginning. It will continue over the next two academic years as we develop a self-study report and host visits by a team of peer evaluators in the Fall of 2023 and Spring of 2024.

To kick off the effort, we are pleased to announce the membership of the Accreditation Steering Committee, which will be led by Vice Provost Diana Arpino and Dean of the College of Arts & Science Wendy Suzuki, who will serve as co-chairs.

The self-study will focus on four areas of priority:

  • Impact: Addressing complex universal challenges and urgent social problems
  • Research: Transforming knowledge through innovative scholarship and creative investigation
  • Students: Excellence in education and the student experience in service of student success while at the university and once they leave
  • Global: Advancing NYU's unique strengths in global education

Working groups, co-led by faculty and administrators serving on the Steering Committee, will address each of these priorities as well as our compliance with all of the accreditation standards and requirements of affiliation. NYU’s commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion informs the entire study.

The members of the Steering Committee are:

Steering Committee Co-Chairs

Diana Arpino, Vice Provost, Office of the Provost

Wendy Suzuki, Dean, College of Arts and Science; Professor of Neural Science, Faculty of Arts and Science

Steering Committee Members

Stacie Bloom, Vice Provost for Research; Chief Research Officer, Office of the Provost

David Campbell, Solutions Lead for Academic Programs, NYU Information Technology

Elise Cappella, Vice Dean for Research; Professor of Applied Psychology, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development

Tracey Gardner, Deputy Chief of Staff to the President, Office of the President

Bethany Godsoe, Senior Associate Vice President of Student Affairs, Student Affairs

Natalie Hidalgo, Chief Information Officer, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development

Peter Holm, Assistant Vice President for Global Planning and Research, Global Programs and University Life

Kimberley Johnson, Interim Chair of Social and Cultural Analysis; Professor of Social and Cultural Analysis; Professor of Wilf Family Department of Politics, Faculty of Arts and Science; Affiliated Faculty, Wagner Graduate School of Public Service

Sunil Kumar, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education; Professor of Mechanical Engineering, NYU Abu Dhabi

Armanda Lewis, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, College of Arts and Science

Rosemonde Pierre-Louis, Executive Director, McSilver Institute for Poverty, Policy and Research

Karen Shimakawa, Co-Associate Dean of Faculty Services and Academic Affairs; Associate Professor of Performance Studies, Tisch School of the Arts

Vincent Southerland, Co-Faculty Director, Center on Race, Inequality, and the Law; Assistant Professor of Clinical Law, School of Law

David Vintinner, Executive Director of Institutional Research, Office of Institutional Research and Data Integrity, University Enrollment Management

There will be ample opportunities to stay informed and to contribute. We invite all members of the community to visit for more information on the self-study including a timeline, working group membership, and up-to-date information on our progress.