Date:   December 14, 2023
To:       NYU Faculty
From:  NYU President Linda G. Mills

Dear faculty colleagues,

I am very pleased to announce the formation of a Provost Search Committee.

Michael Purugganan, Silver Professor of Biology at Arts and Science and NYU Abu Dhabi and Academic Director of 19 Washington Square North, has graciously agreed to chair the committee, the full membership of which is listed below.

I met with the committee members – who will be assisted by the search firm Isaacson, Miller – to discuss the work ahead and asked them to recommend three outstanding candidates, unranked, for my consideration in the spring semester. As a first step in creating opportunities for faculty consultation, the committee has created an email address for this search – – to receive your input and your suggestions of people the committee should consider, both internal and external.

To Michael Purugganan, whose broad knowledge of NYU will serve this process so well, and to the entire membership of the committee, I offer my deep thanks for their willingness to serve.

Linda G. Mills

NYU Provost Search Committee


Michael Purugganan, Silver Professor of Biology, Center for Genomics and Systems Biology/New York and Abu Dhabi; Academic Director, 19 Washington Square North, New York University Abu Dhabi in New York *Chair

Noel S. Anderson, Executive Director, Leadership and Innovation; Clinical Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development

Mor Armony, Vice Dean for Faculty and Research; Harvey Golub Professor of Business Leadership; Professor of Technology, Operations & Statistics, Stern School of Business

Ryan Carney, MPA ’24, NYU Wagner Graduate School of Public Service; Chair, NYU Student Government Assembly

Patrick J. Egan, Associate Professor, Department of Politics, Arts & Science

Brian Elbel, Professor of Population Health and Health Policy, NYU Grossman School of Medicine and NYU Wagner Graduate School of Public Service; Associate Dean, Research Mission Strategy and Administration, NYU Langone Health

Troy McKenzie, Dean, NYU School of Law; Cecelia Goetz Professor of Law

Tamara Santiago, Senior Associate Director, IT Engagement, Office of the CIO, NYU IT; NYU IT Global Inclusion Officer; Administrative Management Council Treasurer

Matthew S. Santirocco, Professor of Classics and Angelo J. Ranieri Director of Ancient Studies; Faculty Director, NYU Washington DC; Dean Emeritus, College of Arts & Science

Agnes Tourin, Industry Associate Professor, NYU Tandon School of Engineering; Secretary, Full-Time Continuing Contract Faculty Senators Council Steering Committee

Deborah Willis, University Professor; Chair, Department of Photography & Imaging, Tisch School of the Arts; Social and Cultural Analysis, Africana, Arts & Science; Director, Center for Black Visual Culture

Ellen Schall, Senior Presidential Fellow; Dean Emeritus, NYU Wagner, is serving as Coordinator to the Search Committee.