TO: The Members of the NYU Community
FROM: Board Chair Marty Lipton and FSC Chair Raghu Sundaram, co-chairs of the Joint Committee of NYU Stakeholders
DATE: March 31, 2014
RE: Report on the Joint Committee of NYU Stakeholders

We write to report on the Joint Committee of NYU Stakeholders. As you may know, we met once in the fall semester and we scheduled three meetings for the spring semester – one each in March, April, and May. The topic for the March meeting was Full-Time Non-Tenure Track/Contract Faculty (FTNTT/CF), although even that name for this group of faculty isn’t completely satisfactory to all those in that group. We referenced the areas where important progress has been and is being made this year. The first relates to representation of the FTNTT/CF at the University Senate and on Senate committees. The University Senate Committee on Organization and Governance (SCOG) has made a detailed set of recommendations concerning this to the University Senate, which is scheduled to be voted on at the April 17 meeting of the Senate and then referred to the University Board of Trustees for consideration at its June meeting. The second area under review this year involves the Full-Time Contract Faculty Planning Committee Guidelines on Appointments; a draft document approved by the Faculty Senators Council among others has been submitted to the Provost and is currently under review. The bulk of the meeting was spent identifying other areas that need attention at both the school and the university level. The issues raised included the AAUP guidelines on contract faculty; job security, documented minimum/baseline elements of contract; salary and compensation; sabbaticals; and many others. The issues will be referred to the appropriate bodies for follow-up.

In the April meeting, we will be discussing 2031 and presidential leadership succession. In May we will be covering GNU and governance. We have a practice of leaving the last half hour of each meeting open for raising any issues of concern. We’re including the current list of members and alternates at the end of this message. We’d like to reiterate the purpose of this committee: to serve as a mechanism through which the faculty and other constituencies of the University can communicate directly with the Trustees and through them, the Board; to this end, we encourage you to reach out to your peers on the committee with any concerns you would like them to raise for upcoming meetings.

We’re encouraged by the level of engagement from the participants thus far and look forward to our upcoming meetings. We will report out to the community at the close of the semester.

Joint Committee of NYU Stakeholders: Members and Alternates

Awam Amkpa, Associate Professor of Drama, Social and Cultural Analysis, Tisch School of the Arts

Jeane Anastas, Professor of Social Work, Silver School of Social Work

Jennifer Arlen, Norma Z. Paige Professor of Law, Law School

Phyllis Barasch, Vice Chair, NYU Board of Trustees, Stern '81

Maria Bartiromo, NYU Board of Trustees, Anchor and Global Markets Editor, FOX Business Network, WSC ’89

Jess Benhabib, Professor of Economics, Faculty of Arts and Science

William Berkley, Vice Chair, NYU Board of Trustees, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, W.R. Berkley Corporation, Stern '66

Kathy Bishop, Adjunct Assistant Professor, Liberal Studies

Jim Borowiec, Professor, School of Medicine

Tamara Bushnik, Associate Professor, School of Medicine

Heather Cannady, NYU Board of Trustees, Associate, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP, CAS '04

Evan Chesler, NYU Board of Trustees, Chairman, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP, ARTS '70, LAW '75

Robby Cohen, Professor of Social Studies Education, Steinhardt School

Florence Davis, NYU Board of Trustees, President, The Starr Foundation, LAW '79

Mason Detloff, College of Arts and Science, BA 2014

Vasant Dhar, Professor and Head, Information Systems Group Co-Director, Center for Business Analytics, Stern School of Business

Mariam Ehrari, Chair, Student Senators Council, College of Arts and Science, BA 2014

Joel Ehrenkranz, NYU Board of Trustees, Senior Partner, Ehrenkranz & Ehrenkranz, LLP, LAW '61, '63

Ada Ferrer, Professor of History, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science

Nieca Goldberg, Clincial Associate Professor, Medical Director Women's Heart Program, School of Medicine

Christine Harrington, Professor of Politics, Institute of Law and Society (Associate Faculty); and School of Law (Affiliated Faculty)

Robert Hoffman, M.D., Professor, School of Medicine

Harris Inskeep, College of Arts and Science, BA 2014

Leila Jahangiri, Clinical Professor, College of Dentistry

Sameer Jaywant, College of Arts and Science, BA 2014

Tim Johnson, Librarian for Africana Studies, Anthropology and Food Studies, Bobst Library

Alexander Jones, Professor of the History of the Exact Sciences in Antiquity, Institute for the Study of the Ancient World

Martin Klimke, Associate Professor of History, NYU AD

Ned Landau, Professor, School of Medicine

Ken Langone, Vice Chair, NYU Board of Trustees, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Invemed Associates, LLC, Stern '60

Brian Levine, NYU Board of Trustees, Reproductive Endocrinology & Infertility Fellow, NY Presbyterian / Weill Cornell Medical Center, GSAS ’03, MED ’08

Martin Lipton, Chair, NYU Board of Trustees, Partner, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, LAW '55

Achiau Ludomirsky, M.D., Andrall E. Pearson Professor of Pediatric Cardiology, Director of Pediatric Cardiology, School of Medicine

Ted Magder, Associate Professor of Media, Culture and Communication, Steinhardt School

Joe Magee, Associate Professor of Management, NYU Wagner

Mimi Marziani, NYU Board of Trustees, Associate, Sullivan & Cromwell, LAW '08

Anna McCarthy, Professor, Tisch School of the Arts

Charlton McIlwain, Associate Professor of Media, Culture and Communication, Steinhardt School

Vicki Morwitz, Harvey Golub Professor of Business Leadership, Stern *Alternate*

Tony Movshon, Professor, Faculty of Arts and Science

David Oxman, NYU Board of Trustees, Senior Counsel, Davis Polk & Wardwell

Michael Rectenwald, Master Teacher of Liberal Studies Program, Liberal Studies

Shelley Rice, Arts Professor, Tisch School of the Arts

Andrew Ross, Professor of Social and Cultural Analysis, Faculty of Arts and Science

Chris Rzonca, Adjunct Lecturer, Liberal Studies

Joe Salvatore, Clinical Assistant Professor of Educational Theatre, Steinhardt School

Miriam Robbins, Clinical Associate Professor, College of Dentistry

Daniel Shaviro, Wayne Perry Professor of Taxation, Law School *Alternate*Michelle Shedlin, Professor, College of Nursing

Karen Shimakawa, Associate Professor, Tisch *Alternate*

Sören Stark, Assistant Professor of Central Asian Art and Achaeology, ISAW *Alternate*

Marti Subrahmanyam, Charles E. Merrill Professor of Finance, Economics and International Business, Stern School of Business

Edward Sullivan, Helen Gould Sheppard Professor in the History of Art, Institute of Fine Arts

Raghu Sundaram, Chair, Faculty Senators Council, Professor of Finance and Yamaichi Faculty Fellow, Stern School of Business

Jack Tchen, Associate Professor, Gallatin

Richard Thorsen, Vice President Emeritus, Senior Advisor to the President, NYU Polytechnic School of Engineering

Patrick Totaro, School of Law, JD 2014

Jennifer Trahan, Associate Clinical Professor of Global Affairs, School of Continuing and Professional Studies

Jim Uleman, Professor of Psychology, Faculty of Arts and Science

Raghu Varadhan, Professor, Courant Institute of Mathematica Sciences

David Vogelsang, Chair, Administrative Management Council, Executive Director, Student Resource Center

Anthony Welters,Vice Chair, NYU Board of Trustees, Law ’77

Larry White, Robert Kavesh Professor of Economics, Stern *Alternate*

Tom Wisniewski, M.D., Professor, Director Aging and Dementia, School of Medicine