Date:  Wednesday, July 2, 2014
From:  Martin Lipton, Chair, NYU Board of Trustees


Dear Fellow Members of the NYU Community,

I am pleased to share with you the names of the students, faculty, administrators, and trustees who will serve as the members of the NYU Presidential Search Committee, which will be chaired by William Berkley, Stern ’66, the Chair-designate of the Board of Trustees.

The Committee will begin its work in September and the Board hopes to name a new president prior to the end of 2015. Ellen Schall – the Martin Cherkasky Professor of Health Policy and Management at the Wagner School, the former dean of Wagner, and currently a Senior Presidential Fellow – will serve as coordinator of the search for the Board.

The Board has few responsibilities more important than the selection of a new president. I am fully confident that this group of women and men drawn from across the University community will – through their discernment, wisdom, good judgment, and dedication to NYU – successfully find us the right person to be our next president: a leader with a record of achievement who can build on what has been accomplished, sustain NYU’s drive for excellence, and further propel the University’s upward trajectory in the years to come. On behalf of the entire NYU community, I thank them for taking on this assignment.

As part of its work, the Search Committee will undertake active outreach to listen to the views of members of the University community. And, as many members of our community are among the most prominent people in their fields in higher learning, you may know of candidates you wish to nominate for consideration by the Search Committee; to submit the names of possible nominees, please contact the Committee at

Below, please find the roster of the Search Committee (a member of the recently established Full-Time Non-Tenure Track/Contract Faculty Council will be appointed in the near future).


Kwame Anthony Appiah
Professor of Philosophy, Law
Department of Philosophy
Faculty of Arts and Science
Faculty Council Senator, FAS

Phyllis Putter Barasch
Stern Graduate School of Business ‘81
President, NYU Alumni Association

Maria Bartiromo
Washington Square College ‘89
Anchor and Global Markets Editor
Fox Business Network

William R. Berkley, Chair
Chair Elect, Board of Trustees
Stern School of Business ‘66
Chairman of the Board and CEO
W.R. Berkley Corporation

Heather Cannady
College of Arts and Science ‘04
Manager, Lateral Recruiting
Ropes & Gray LLP

Evan R. Chesler
College of Arts and Science ‘70
School of Law ‘75
Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP

Laurence D. Fink
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
BlackRock, Inc.

Robert I. Grossman
Dean, School of Medicine
Chief Executive Officer, NYU Hospitals Center

Kenneth G. Langone
Chair, Board of Trustees, NYU Langone Medical Center
Stern School of Business ‘60
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Invemed Associates, LLC

Martin Lipton
Chair, Board of Trustees
School of Law ‘55
Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz

Kelly Kennedy Mack
Stern School of Business ‘02
Corcoran Sunshine Marketing Group

Ted Magder
Associate Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication
Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development
Immediate Past Chair, Faculty Senators Council
Member, Faculty Senators Council Executive Committee

Marella Martin
Tisch School of the Arts
MA, Musical Theatre Writing ‘15
School Senator – Graduate

Ann Morning
Associate Professor of Sociology
Department of Sociology
Faculty of Arts and Science
Faculty Council Senator, FAS

Trevor Morrison
Dean, School of Law

Jules O’Connor
College of Arts and Science
BA, Mathematics and Politics ‘15
Chair, Student Senators Council and the University Committee on Student Life

Constance Silver
Silver School of Social Work ’78, ‘79

Rangarajan (Raghu) Sundaram
Yamaichi Faculty Fellow and Professor of Finance
Stern School of Business
Chair, Faculty Senators Council

Chandrika Tandon
Tandon Capital Associates

Daniel R. Tisch
Mentor Partners

David Vintinner
(Administrative Staff)
Senior Director, Institutional Research
FAS Fiscal and Administrative Affairs
Chair, Administrative Management Council

Anthony Welters
Chair, Board of Trustees School of Law
School of Law ‘77
Executive Chairman, BlackIvy Group, LLC
Senior Advisor to the CEO, UnitedHealth Group

Shelby White
The Leon Levy Foundation