FROM: William Berkley, Chairman of the NYU Board of Trustees
DATE: Friday, January 1, 2016

We hope you are all still enjoying a very festive and restful holiday season.

New Year’s Day is always a time of new beginnings. But for the NYU community, the beginning of 2016 is especially meaningful: it marks the start of Andrew Hamilton’s tenure as our 16th president.

In the months since Andy—who has led the University of Oxford for the past six-and-a-half years as its vice chancellor—was first named NYU’s president, he has demonstrated time and again the qualities that drew the search committee to him: the priority he sets on faculty and their centrality to the University’s mission; his insistence that an academic rationale be at the heart of University decision-making; his desire to serve our students well; his intelligence, energy, openness and personal warmth; his global background and outlook; his accomplishments as a fundraiser; and, most importantly, his excitement about and belief in NYU.

Now that he is here at NYU full-time, many of you will have the opportunity to meet him as he makes his way around schools, departments, and units in the coming weeks and months—and you can see for yourself why we feel so optimistic about NYU’s future.

On this first day of the new year, we thank John Sexton for his extraordinary service as president since 2002. And we ask you to join us in warmly welcoming our new president, Andy Hamilton, and his wife Jennie to the NYU family and wishing them all the best for the coming year.

William Berkley, Chair, NYU Board of Trustees
Thomas Carew, Dean of FAS and Chair, Deans Council
Fred Carl, Associate Arts Professor, Associate Chair of the TSOA Graduate Musical Theatre Writing Program, and Chair, the Full-Time Continuing Contract Faculty Senators Council
Michael Hengerer, Gallatin ’16, and Chair, Student Senators Council
Allen Mincer, Professor of Physics in FAS and Chair, Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty Senators Council
David Vintinner, Senior Director of Institutional Research in FAS and Chair, Administrative Management Council