Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

Sustainability Task Force


The Sustainability Task Force (STF) is a university advisory body made up of approximately 70 members, tasked with developing recommendations for new policies and practices that improve NYU's environmental performance and foster a campus culture of sustainability.
» more

Structure and Participation

The Sustainability Task Force is working to implement dozens of recommendations from its 2007 and 2008 Annual Reports. In 2009, a new, more comprehensive set of recommendations (without an accompanying report) were released and are being implemented both by the Task directly and by offices throughout the administration.
» more

Image Map

The Sustainability Task Force includes about 75 members, representing as many NYU constituencies as possible while also focusing on participants with specific expertise or interest in the issues. It includes representatives from thirteen NYU Schools and dozens of student organizations, administrative areas, and university governance bodies. Members participate in one or more Working Groups which each have a specific set of charges within varied areas of impact.
» more

Steering Committee and Working Groups

The STF Steering Committee (SC) provides leadership regarding the groupís agenda, reviews Green Grants and other funding requests, and ratifies Working Group recommendations. The SC is composed of university decision makers with jurisdiction over STF projects, and acts to advance these wherever possible.
» more

History and Archives

The Task Force was established in October 2006, when Executive Vice President Michael Alfano announced the launch of a university-wide initiative that also included the creation of the Sustainability Fund and the largest purchase of wind energy by a US university.
» more