Archive Content: This site is a historical reference and is no longer current. For current information please click here.

New York University

Conversations with Neighbors

Engaged the Community from the Start

Working with Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer, NYU agreed in 2007 to convene a special Community Task Force on NYU Development. Its primary focus was to help NYU develop a strategy for growth that would balance the University's space needs with respect for its surrounding neighbors. A critical step in the process was creating a set of principles, announced in 2008, which the University has agreed will guide its future development.

With these guidelines in mind, University planners and their design team conducted extensive community outreach over the next two years, holding several open houses and scores of smaller meetings with community, civic, faculty, and student organizations. The University presented plans in over six open houses between 2007 and 2010, each attracting hundreds of people from the NYU community and neighborhood. These events provided the planners with the chance to hear from a diverse group of community members, through vigorous discussions and debates in person and by collecting written feedback. The University was able to then incorporate responses into the following rounds of planning. Those suggestions and concerns have profoundly shaped the vision that NYU presents.

The Task Force on NYU Development was disbanded by the Borough President in 2010, in anticipation of NYU implementing aspects of its plan both within and outside of the Borough and as the University officially enters the public approvals process for its Washington Square proposals, which requires a full ULURP review.

Original Members of the Community Task Force on NYU Development

Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer
Congressman Jerrold Nadler
State Senator Marty Connor
State Senator Thomas K. Duane
Assemblymember Deborah J. Glick
Assemblymember Brian Kavanagh
Office of the Mayor, Community Affairs Unit
Speaker of the New York City Council, Christine C. Quinn
City Councilmember Alan Gerson
City Councilmember Rosie Mendez
Manhattan Community Board 1
Manhattan Community Board 2
Manhattan Community Board 3
American Institute of Architects New York Chapter
Friends of NoHo Architecture
Greenwich Village Block Association
Greenwich Village Society for Historic Preservation
Mercer Square Block Association
NoHo Neighborhood Association
New York University
The SoHo Alliance
St. Ann's Committee
The Coalition to Save the East Village
Cooper Square Committee

Other City Contributors

Bedford Barrow Commerce Block Association
Bleecker Area Merchants and Residents Association
Board of 505 La Guardia Place
Caring Community
Central Village Block Association
Greenwich Village - Chelsea Chamber of Commerce
Silver Towers Tenants Association
The New School
The Union Square Partnership
The Village Alliance
Washington Place Block Association
Washington Square Association
Washington Square Tenants Association

Contributors from NYU's Community

Planning Advisory Council (faculty and administrators)
Faculty Senators Council
Student Senators Council
Administrative Management Council
Academic Priorities Committee
Administration Management Council
Individual NYU Schools and Colleges
Commuter Circle (Commuter Students)
Inter-Residence Hall Council (IRHC)
RA Council (Resident Advisors)
Faculty Forums