In his inauguration speech, President Andrew Hamilton committed to making NYU among the greenest urban campuses in the nation. Soon after the appointment in January 2018 of Cecil Scheib to lead NYU’s sustainability efforts, the Office of Sustainability launched a crowdsourcing campaign called “Sustainability at NYU” in which over 2,300 students, faculty, staff, and administrators contributed 180 ideas.  

To further develop and implement near-term sustainability initiatives, in September 2018, the Office of Sustainability convened a Sustainability Working Group composed of administrators, faculty, and students with direct expertise in five different areas: Teaching & ResearchEngagementEnergy, Water & HealthFood & Waste, and Transportation. A Sustainability Advisory Group of students and administrators responsible for major operational units as well as representatives from the University Senate was convened in April 2018 to input throughout the process. The membership of both these groups is below.


Cecil Scheib

Chief Sustainability Officer, Office of the President

Cheryl Healton
School of Global Public Health

Dale Jamieson

Professor, Environmental Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science

Mary Killilea
Clinical Associate Professor, Biology and Environmental Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science

Nicola Partridge
Professor, College of Dentistry

Rodrigo Zeidan
Associate Professor of Practice of Business and Finance, NYU Shanghai
Center for Business Education and Research, NYU Shanghai

Katie Glasgow-Palmer
Chair, Student Government Sustainability Committee, NYU Abu Dhabi

Adriana Moreno
Chair, Student Senators Council Sustainability Committee

Cindy Xie
Director, Student Government Environment and Sustainability Committee, NYU Shanghai

Dianne Anderson
Director, Office of Sustainability

Yanoula Athanassakis
Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Office of the Provost

Lynne Brown

Senior Vice President, University Relations & Public Affairs

Linda Chiarelli
Vice President, Capital Projects and Facilities

Lisa Coleman
Senior Vice President for Global Inclusion, Diversity, and Strategic Innovation

Tandra Davis
Director, Strategic Sourcing, Procurement

Sabrina Ellis
Vice President, Human Resources

Tracey Gardner
Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the President

Jessica Sederquist
Chief of Staff to the Vice Chancellor, NYU Abu Dhabi

Len Peters
Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Information Technology

Stephanie Pianka
Senior Vice President, Finance and Budget and Chief Financial Officer

Juan Tie
First Deputy Director, Public Safety



Cybele Raver, Co-Chair
Deputy Provost

Tensie Whelan, Co-Chair
Director, Center for Sustainable Business

Jonathan Chin
M.A. Candidate, Steinhardt

John Gershman
Clinical Professor of Public Service

Tom Igoe
Associate Arts Professor

Beth Kienle-Granzo
University Registrar & AVP of Student Information Systems

Mary Leou
Clinical Professor of Environmental Education

Sophie Rifkin
Senior Associate Director, Center for Sustainable Business


Charlton Mcilwain, Co-Chair
Vice Provost for Faculty Engagement and Development, Office of the Provost

Arlene Peralta, Co-Chair
Senior Director, Community Engagement, University Relations and Public Affairs

Monroe France
Associate Vice President for Global Student Engagement & Inclusive Leadership

Karan Ganta
Tandon School of Engineering, 2020

Bethany Godsoe
Associate Vice President, Career and Leadership Development

Shonna Keogan
Director, Executive Communications

Eric Loffswold
Associate Director, Learning and Org Development

David Pe
Associate Dean of Students, Student Life

Michael Venturiello
Program Administrator, Center for Student Life

Katrina Wyman
Sarah Herring Sorin Professor of Law, NYU School of Law


Jennifer Gerdes, Co-Chair
Senior Advisor to the Associate Vice Chancellor of Global Programs

Andrew Repoli, Co-Chair
Director, Construction Management

Brian Burke
Director, Energy Engineering

Jack Caravanos
Clinical Professor, Global and Environmental Health

Gabrielle Mendelsohn
Co-President, EarthMatters; College of Arts and Sciences 2019

Melisa Puglisi
Director, Environmental Health and Safety

Bonny Urban
Category Lead, Procurement  


Tom Ellett, Co-Chair
Senior Associate Vice President, Student Affairs

Edie Peckl, Co-Chair
Executive Director, Procurement

Wayne Cook
Procurement Lead

Stephanie Kung
Assistant Director, Environmental Health & Safety

Owen Moore
Associate Vice President, Campus Services

Brad Penuel
Associate Dean, Administration

George Reis
Manager of Grounds and Waste Management

Lila Rimalovski
Gallatin, 2019

Jose Roman
Assistant Vice President, Post-Award Financial Operations

Carlos Zafra
Associate Vice President of Operations, CBS

Lillian Zalta
Assistant Dean


Chris Bledsoe, Co-Chair
Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs; Director of Athletics, Intramurals & Recreation

Natalie Hidalgo, Co-Chair
Associate Vice President, Planning, Policy and Engagement

David Baler
Global Liberal Studies, 2019

Christopher Echeverria
Senior Policy Analyst, Government Affairs

Matt Huck
Assistant Athletic Director, Business Operations and Club Sports

Greg Rivas
Assistant Director, Transportation

Laurie Stallone
Global Travel Manager, Procurement


Kate Baier
Senior Director, Residential Life

Lily Burns-Hernandez
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Administration and Chief of Staff, NYU Abu Dhabi

Erin Lynch
Associate Vice President, Faculty Housing

Erin Meekhof
Associate Instructor, Arts & Humanities

Harry Meng
Chief of Staff to the Vice Chancellor, NYU Shanghai

Gerard Savoy
Director of Facilities Management

Kristina Zacharias
Associate Director, Facilities and Workplace Services