Univeristy Seal

University Seal

The University seal is composed of five emblems that embrace the goals and traditions of NYU. MDCCCXXXI is 1831, the year of incorporation. “New York University” became the legal name of the institution in 1896, although this was its popular name long before then. The motto "Perstare et Praestare"—to persevere and to excel—complements the depiction of classic runners, and, when combined, these symbols represent the continued pursuit of academic excellence. Finally, there is the upheld torch of the Lady of the Harbor, which signifies NYU in service to the “metropolis”—New York City.

< Previous Next >