Home
Top Ten Lantern Slide Providers
Complete List of Lantern Slide Providers Cited 
Expanded List of Lantern Slide Providers
List of Participating Institutions
Brief Answers from Participants, Phase I




NALSS Participating Institutions

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


- A -
The American Magic-Lantern Theater
Box 44
East Haddam, CT 6423 US
Terry and Debbie Borton tborton@magiclanternshows.com
Tel: 860-345-7578 Fax: 869-345-2574
American Museum of Natural History
Park West at 79 Street
New York, NY 10024 USA
Barbara Mathe
Tel: 212-769-5419 Fax:212-769-5009
Arizona State Archives
1700 W. Washington #342
Phoenix, AZ 85018 U.S.
ldevine@lib.az.us
Tel: 602-542-4402 Fax: 602-542-4159
Arizona State Museum
Photographic Collections
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ 85721-0026 USA
Susan Emley Luebbermann
luebbers@email.arizona.edu
Tel: 520-621-2445 Fax: 520-621-2976

- B -
Brooklyn Museum of Art
Libraries & Archives
200 Eastern Parkway
Brooklyn, NY 11238 US
Deborah Wythe
deborah.wythe@brooklynmuseum.org
Tel: 718-501-6311 Fax: 718-501-6125
Broward County Library
WPA Museum Extension Project Collection
Dianne and Michael Bienes Special Collections and Rare Book Library
100 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Paul Lefrak
plefrak@browardlibrary.org
Tel: 954-357-5485 Fax:954-357-5749

- C -
Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA)
Photographs Collection
1920 Baile Street
Montreal, Quebec H3H 2S6 Canada
Louise D├ęsy
ldesy@cca.qc.ca
Tel: 514-939-7000 Fax: 514-939-7020
Cincinnati and Hamilton County Public Library
800 Vine Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202 U.S.
Byron D. Coaston
byron.coaston@cincinnatilibrary.org
Tel: 513-369-3123 Fax: 513-665-3351
Colorado School of Mines
Arthur Lakes Library
1400 Illinois St.
Golden, CO 80401 USA
Lisa G. Dunn
libref@mines.edu
Tel:303-273-3694 Fax:303-273-3199
Columbia University

Connecticut College
Visual Resources Library
Campus Box 5394
New London, CT 06320-4196 USA
Mark Braunstein
mark.braunstein@sbcglobal.net
Tel: 860-439-2729

- D -
DePauw University
Peeler Visual Resources Collection
10 West Hanna St
Greencastle, IN 46135 USA
Lori Shimer
bcox@depauw.edu
Tel:765 658 4342
Detroit Institute of Arts
Research Library & Archives
5200 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, Michigan US
Simone Myree
smyree@dia.org
Tel: 313-833-3826

- G -
Getty Research Institute
Special Collection & Visual Resources
1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049 USA
Barbara Furbush
bfurbush@getty.edu
Tel: 310-440-7151

- H -
Harvard University
Fine Art Library, Fogg Art Museum
32 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 2138
Amanda Bowen
Tel: 617-495-3374 Fax: 617-495-4889
History San Jose
1650 Senter Rd.
San Jose, CA 95112 USA
Sarah Puckitt
spuckitt@historysanjose.org
Tel: 408-521-5025 Fax: 408-287-5807



- I -
Indiana Univeristy
Fine Arts 002
Fine Arts Slide Library Lantern Slide Collection
Bloomington, IN 47405 USA
Eileen Fry
fryp@indiana.edu
Tel: 812-855-9727
Iowa State University
Visual Resources Collection
116 Design
Ames, Iowa 50011
Susan Poague
sapoague@iastate.edu
Tel: 515-294-8246 Fax: 515-294-9755
Iowa State University Library
Special Collections Department
403 Parks Library
Ames, Iowa 50011
Tanya Zanish-Belcher
tzanish@iastate.edu
Tel: 515-294-6648 Fax: 515-294-5525

- J -
Johns Hopkins University
Special Collections
Milton S. Eisenhower Library
3400 North Charles Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21218 USA
James Stimpert
stimpert@jhu.edu
Tel: 410-516-7202 Fax: 410-516-8323

- L -
Lancaster County Historical Society
230 North President Avenue
Lancaster, PA 17603-3125 USA
Barry R. Rauhauser
barry.rauhauser@millersville.edu
Tel: 717-392-4633
Library of Virginia
Special Collections
800 E. Broad St.
Richmond, Virginia 23219 USA
Dana Angell
dangell@lva.lib.va.us
Tel: 804-692-3709 Fax: 804-692-3708

- M -
Maine Historical Society
Maine Historical Society Research Library
489 Congress St.
Portland, ME 4101 USA
Frances Pollitt
fpollitt@mainehistory.org
Tel: 207-774-1822
Mass. Dept. of Conservation & Recreation
DCR Archives
251 Causeway St., Suite 600
Boston, MA 2114 USA
Sean M. Fisher
sean.fisher@state.ma.us
Tel: 617-626-1440 Fax: 617-626-1349
McDaniel College
Hoover Library
2 College Hill
Westminster, Maryland 21157 U.S
Barbara O'brien
bobrien@mcdaniel.edu
Tel: 410-857-2748 Fax: 410-857-2793
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Photograph and Slide Library
1000 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10028 U.S.
Julie Zeftel
julie.zeftel@metmuseum.org
Tel: 212-650-2772 Fax: 212-396-5050
Middlebury College
Art Department Slide Collection
Johnson 405
Middlebury, VT 5753 U.S.
Megan Battey
battey@middlebury.edu
Tel: 802-443-2250 Fax: 802-443-5233
Montgomery County Historical Society
224 North St. Clair Street
Dayton, OH 45402 U.S.
Curt Dalton
curtdalton@daytonhistory.org
Tel: 937-228-6271
Vendor info
Mount Holyoke College
Art Department Slide Library
50 College Street
South Hadley, MA 1075
Linda Callahan
lcallaha@mtholyoke.edu
Tel: 413-493-3166

- N -
National Museum of American History
Smithsonian Institution
Photographic History Collection, MRC 635
P.O. Box 37012
Washington DC 20013-7012
Michelle Delaney
delaneym@si.edu
Tel: 202-357-4256 Fax: 202-633-3810
Neville Public Museum of Brown County
210 Museum Place
Green Bay, WI 54301 U.S.
pfotenhauer_lc@co.brown.wi.us
Tel: 920-448-4499 X211 Fax: 920-448-4458
New York School of Interior Design
170 East 70th Street
New York, NY 10021
Eric Wolf
eric@nysid.edu
Tel: 212-472-1500 x216 Fax: 212-472-8175
New York State Military Museum
61 Lake Ave
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 U.S.
Jim Gandy
Jim.Gandy@ny.ngb.army.mil
Tel: 518-581-5109
NYU
Institute of Fine Arts
Visual Resources Collections
1 East 78 Street
New York, NY 10075 USA
Jenni Rodda
jmr3@nyu.edu or jenni.rodda@nyu.edu
Tel: 212-992-5872
North Carolina State University
NCSU Libraries
2205 Hillsborough Street
Raleigh, NC 27695-7111 U.S.
Robert Burton
robert_burton@ncsu.edu
Tel: 919-515-2273 Fax: 919-515-3628
Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Archives and Sewell Museum
329 West 18th Street, Suite 901
Chicago, IL 60616-1120 U.S.
archives@nmh.org
Tel: 312-926-3090 Fax: 312-926-6957

- O -
Oberlin College
Department of Art
87 North Pleasant Steet
Oberlin, OH 44074 U.S.
Joseph A. Romano
joseph.romano@oberlin.edu
Tel: 440-775-8969 Fax: 440-775-8666
Oberlin College
Oberlin College Library
148 W. College St.
Oberlin, OH 44074 U.S.
Ed Vermue
ed.vermue@oberlin.edu
Tel: 440-775-5043 Fax: 440-775-8739
Oregon Health &Science University
OHSU Historical Collections & Archives
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd.
Portland, OR 97239-3098 U.S.
Sara Piasecki
piasecki@ohsu.edu
Tel: 503-418-2287 Fax: 503-418-0235

- P -
Palm Springs Desert Museum
Stephen H. Willard Photography Collection & Archive
101 Museum Dr
Palm Springs, CA 92262 U.S.
Michelle Gallagher
mgallagher@psmuseum.org
Tel: 760-325-7186 ext. 122 Fax: 760-327-5069
Pennsylvania State University
Mont Alto Campus Library
1 Campus Drive
Mont Alto, PA 17237 U.S.
Alica C. White
acw@PSU.EDU
Tel: 717-749-6059 Fax: 717-749-6042
Pierpont Morgan Library
29 East 36 Street
New York, NY 10016 U.S.
Christine Nelson
cnelson@morganlibrary.org
Tel: 212-590-0336
Princeton University
Visual Resources Collection
Dept. of Art & Archaeology
207 McCormick Hall
Prince, NJ 08544-1018 U.S.
Trudy Jacoby
tjacoby@princeton.edu
Tel: 609-258-5853 Fax: 609-258-0103
Private - Justin Kelly
95 Clark Point Road (PO Box # 0668)
Southwest Harbor, Maine 4679 U.S
screan@aol.com
Tel: 917-693-9492 Fax: 212-214-0745
Private - Karin Evans
2928 Linden Avenue
Berkeley, CA 94705 U.S.
karinevans2002@yahoo.com
Tel: 510-845-2097 Fax: 510-845-2041
Reed College
Eric V. Hauser Library - Special Collections
3203 SE Woodstock Blvd.
Portland, OR 97202 U.S.
Gay Walker
gay.walker@reed.edu
Tel: 503-777-7782

- R -
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Architecture Library
Greene Bldg.
110 8th Street
Troy, NY 12180 U.S.
Jeanne M. Keefe
keefej@rpi.edu
Tel: 518-276-2727 Fax: 518-276-6753
Rhode Island School of Design
RISD Library Slide Collection
2 College Street
Providence, RI 2903 U.S.
Debra Kruse
dkruse@risd.edu
Tel: 401-454-6249 Fax: 401-454-6226

- S -
Sierra Madre Public Library
Historical Archives
440 West Sierra Madre Blvd.
Sierra Madre, CA 91024 U.S.
Debbie Henderson
dhenders@sierramadre.lib.ca.us
Tel: 626-355-7186 Fax: 626-355-6218
Smithsonian Institution
Archives of American Gardens
P.O. Box 37012, A& I 2282, MRC 420
Washington D.C. 20013-7012 U.S.
Joyce Connolly
connollyjo@opp.si.edu
Tel: 202-786-9148 Fax: 202-786-2026
Smithsonian Institution
National Anthropological Archives
4210 Silver Hill Road
Suitland, MD 20746 U.S.
naa@nmnh.si.edu
Tel: 301-238-2883
Swarthmore College
Swarthmore College Peace Collection
500 College Ave.
Swarthmore, PA 19081 U.S.
Wendy E. Chmielewski
wchmiel@swarthmore.edu
Tel: 610-328-8557 Fax: 610-690-5728

- U -
University of California, Los Angeles
Department of Art History Visual Resource Collection
200 Dodd Hall
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1417 U.S.
David K. Ziegler
ziegler@humnet.ucla.edu
Tel: 310-206-1903 Fax: 310-825-0216
University of California, Berkeley
Architecture Visual Resources Library
232 Wurster Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-1800 U.S.
Maryly Snow
maryly@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-642-3439 Fax: 510-642-8655
University of California, San Diego
Archives of Scripps Institution of Oceanography
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-0219 U.S.
Deborah Day
dday@ucsd.edu
Tel: 858-534-4878 Fax: 858-534 5269
University of Hawaii
Manoa campus
University of Hawaii Library
Asian Collection
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu, HI 96822 U.S.
Preservation Department Lantern Slide Survey
phyllisw@hawaii.edu
Tel: 808-956-2470 Fax: 808-956-5968
University of Maryland
School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation
Visual Resources Collection
College Park, MD 20742 U.S.
Christine C. Hinojosa
hinojosa@umd.edu
Tel: 301-405-6321 Fax: 301-314-9583
University of Michigan
Special Collections Library
920 N. University
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1205 U.S.
Kathleen Dow
kdow@umich.edu
Tel: 734-764-9377 Fax: 734-764-9368
University of Nevada
Special Collections Department, University Libraries
1664 N. Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89557-0044 U.S.
Kathryn Totton
totton@unr.edu
Tel: 775-784-6500 ext.312 Fax: 775-784-4529
University of Notre Dame
Architecture Library
Notre Dame, IN 46556-5652 U.S.
Jane Devine Mejia
jdevine@nd.edu
Tel: 574-631-9662 Fax: 574-631-9401
University of Pennsylvania
Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology Archives

3260 South Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6324 U.S.
Alessandro Pezzati
apezzati@sas.upenn.edu
Tel: 215-898-8304 Fax: 215-898-0657
University of Rochester
Memorial Art Gallery
500 University Ave
Rochester, NY 14607-1415 U.S.
Susan Nurse
snurse@mag.rochester.edu
Tel: 585-473-7720 ext. 3039 Fax: 585-473-6266
University of Rochester
Visual Resources Collection
G134A Rush Rhees Library
Rochester, NY 14627 U.S.
Kim Kopatz
kimk@library.rochester.edu
Tel: 585-275-7224 Fax: 585-442-1692
University of Texas at Austin
Alexander Architectural Archive
P.O. Box P (BTL200 S5430)
Austin, TX 78713-8916 U.S.
Beth Dodd
dodd.beth@mail.utexas.edu
Tel: 512-495-4504 Fax: 512-495-4326
University of Washington
College of Architecture & Urban Planning
Visual Resources Collection
3949 15th Ave NE
Seattle, WA
Heather Seneff
hs3@u.washington.edu
Tel: 206-543-7598

- V -
Visual Studies Workshop
31 Prince St.
Rochester, NY 14607 U.S.
Andrew Eskind
ahe@rochester.rr.com
Tel: 585-461-5061

- W -
Williams College
Art Department Slide Library
15 Lawrence Hall Dr. Ste.1
Williamstown, MD
Linda Reynolds
Linda.A.Reynolds@williams.edu
Tel: 413-597-2105 Fax: 413-597-3498
Winterthur Museum
Joseph Downs Collection
of Manuscripts and Printed Ephemera
Winterthur, DE 19735 U.S.
Laura Parrish
Lparrish@winterthur.org
Tel: 302-888-4733 Fax: 302-888-4870

- Y -
Yale University
Visual Resources/Arts Library
59 High Street, CT 6520 U.S.
Katherine Haskins
katherine.haskins@yale.edu
Tel: 203-432-2443 Fax: 203-432-0549