Academic Calendar 2015-2016

Monday, August 24 – Friday, August 28, 2015

New Student Orientation and Fall Course Registration

Thursday, August 27, 2015

10:00AM Language Proficiency Exams in the Marble Room
11:30AM Language Proficiency Exams in the Marble Room
Each exam is 1 hour in duration.

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Fall Classes Begin

Monday, September 7, 2015

Labor Day (Buildings Closed)

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Initial Registration on or after September 9th will be charged a late fee ($25).

Monday, October 12, 2015

Fall Recess/Columbus Day (No classes, Buildings Open).

Friday, October 16, 2015

Deadline for Second and Third Year M.A. Students to a submit thesis topic and three potential advisors to the Academic Office.

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Thesis Advisors will be confirmed for Second and Third-year M.A. Students

Monday, November 9, 2015 – Friday, November 20, 2015

Spring 2015 Course Registration Interviews(tentative)

Monday, November 16, 2015

Registration begins on NYU Albert.

Wednesday, November 25 – Friday, November 27, 2015

Student Thanksgiving Recess  (No classes. Buildings remain open on Wednesday)

Thursday, November 26 – Friday, November 27, 2015

University Offices Thanksgiving Recess  (Buildings Closed)

Monday, December 9, 2015

Thesis Proposal Deadline for Second and Third-year M.A. Students

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Last day of Fall 2015 Classes

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

10:00AM Language Exams in the Marble Room
12:00PM Language Exams in the Marble Room
Each Exam is 1 hour in duration.

Thursday, December 17 – Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Fall 2015 Exam Period

Thursday, December 24, 2015­­–Sunday, January 3, 2016

Winter Recess – University Closed

Friday, January 4, 2016

The University Reopens

Monday, January 18, 2016

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (Buildings Closed)

Monday, January 25, 2016

Spring 2016 Term Classes Begin

Monday, February 1, 2016

Initial registration on or after February 1, 2016 will be charged a late fee ($25).

Monday, February 9, 2016

Last day to drop a Spring 2016 class and not receive a grade of “W”

Monday, February, 15, 2016

No Classes- Presidents Day (Buildings Closed)

Thursday, March 10, 2016

First Draft of the M.A. Thesis Due to Your Advisor (7,000 words)

Monday, March 14 – Friday, March 18, 2016

Spring Recess- No Classes (Buildings Open)

Friday, April 22, 2016, 5PM

Deadline to Submit Two Final Copies of the M.A. Thesis to the Academic Office

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

10:00AM Language Exams in the Marble Room
12:00PM Language Exams in the Marble Room
Language exams are 1 hour in duration.

Wednesday, May 11 – Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Spring Exam Period

Tuesday, May 17, 2016 (tentative)

IFA Graduation Ceremony

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

NYU All-University Commencement

Monday, May 30, 2016

Memorial Day (Buildings Closed)

Monday, July 4, 2016

Independence Day (Buildings Closed)

Monday, August 22 – Friday, August 26, 2016 (tentative)

Orientation and Registration for Fall 2016 Courses

Monday, September 5, 2016

Labor Day/ University Closed

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

First Day of Fall 2016 Term

Sign up to our mailing list

If you wish to receive information on our upcoming events, please click hereOpen link in new window.

Follow us!