Fall 2020 dates for final exams and student departure at global academic centers do not necessarily align with the degree-granting campuses. For students taking campus courses remotely, it is possible to have a final scheduled after the exam and student departure dates at their global site. Students should take this into account before booking round trip tickets.

Calendars by Semester

Please note, all calendars below are subject to change. For each fall and spring semester, there will be one additional Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday class meeting designated on the syllabus through either a required site visit, field trip, or academic lecture. For information on refund schedules please visit the Policies and Procedures page.

Fall 2020

  • Saturday, August 29: Student Arrival
  • Monday, August 31 - Tuesday, September 1: Mandatory Orientation
  • Wednesday, September 2: NYU Florence Classes Begin
  • Monday, September 7: No Classes  - NYU New York Holiday
  • Wednesday, September 9: Classes meet according to Monday Class Schedule - NYU New York Legislative Day
  • Tuesday, September 15: Last day to drop/add NYU Florence courses. Last day to drop NYU Florence courses and not receive a "W". Last day of active waitlists.
  • Thursday, November 26: No Classes - NYU New York Holiday
  • Friday, November 27: Make-up Day: Tuesday Class Schedule
  • Monday, November 30: Last day to withdraw from an NYU Florence course (with a "W" on transcript). Last day to declare pass/fail grading option. 
  • Tuesday, December 8: No Classes & Academic Center Closed: Site Holiday
  • Thursday, December 10: Last Day of NYU Florence Classes
  • Friday, December 11: Reading Day
  • Monday, December 14 - Thursday, December 17: Final Exams for NYU Florence Classes
  • Friday, December 18: Student Departure

January 2021

Students participating in January programs should consult course / program calendars as dates may vary by program.

  • Friday, Dec 25, 2020: Holiday. Academic Center Closed.
  • Friday, January 1: Holiday. Academic Center Closed.
  • Monday, January 4: Earliest Possible Start for January Programs
  • Wednesday, January 6: Holiday. Academic Center Closed.
  • Friday, January 22: Latest Possible Departure for January Programs

Spring 2021

  • Thursday, January 21: Student Arrival
  • Friday, January 22-Sunday, January 24: Mandatory Orientation
  • Monday, January 25: NYU Florence Classes Begin
  • Monday, February 15: Classes meet according to Monday Class Schedule
  • TBD: Last day to drop/add NYU Florence courses. Last day to drop NYU Florence courses and not receive a "W". Last day of active waitlists.
  • Monday, March 15-Sunday, March 21: No Classes - Spring Break
  • Monday, April 5: No Classes - Local Holiday
  • TBD: Last day to withdraw from an NYU Florence course (with a "W" on transcript). Last day to declare pass/fail grading option.
  • Monday, May 10: Last Day of NYU Florence Classes
  • Tuesday, May 11: Reading Day
  • Wednesday, May 12 - Monday, May 17: Final Exams for NYU Florence Classes
  • Tuesday, May 18: Student Departure

Summer 2021

Students participating in Summer programs should consult course / program calendars as dates may vary by program.

  • Sunday, May 23: Earliest Possible Start for Summer Programs
  • Wednesday, June 2: Holiday. Academic Center Closed.
  • Thursday, June 24: Holiday. Academic Center Closed.
  • Friday, August 6: Latest Possible End for Summer Programs
  • Sunday, August 15: Holiday. Academic Center Closed.