A

Barbara Abrash, an independent media producer, is Associate Director for the Center for Media, Culture and History at New York University, where she is on the faculty of the graduate program in Public History.

barbara.abrash@nyu.edu



Patricia Aufderheide is a professor and director of the Center for Social Media at American University in Washington, D.C. Her books include The Daily Planet: A Critic on the Capitalist Culture Beat (Minnesota, 2000) and Communications Policy in the Public Interest: The Telecommunications Act of 1996 (Guilford Press,1999).

pauder@american.edu



B

Amahl Bishara is a student in the Ph.D. program in Anthropology and in the Culture and Media Program at New York University.

aab231@nyu.edu



Gregg Bordowitz, a film and video maker and writer, teaches at the Art Institute of Chicago. His films include Fast Trip Long Drop, A Cloud In Trousers, and Habit.

gbordo@artic.edu


Sandra Braman is a professor in the Deparment of Journalism & Mass Communication at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Her work explores the macro-level effects of the use of new information technologies and their policy implications, shifts in the relationships between art and capital, and the political potential of digital art. Current work includes Change of State: An Introduction to Information Policy (MIT).

www.tcf.ua.edu/braman



Joshua Breitbart and Mike Burke are members of the New York City Independent Media Center and frequent contributors to its newspaper, The Indypendent, and its website, nyc.indymedia.org.

joshua@clamormagazine.org


Amit Breuer is an independent documentary filmmaker and producer whose work focuses on political and social issues. Her independent production company, Amythos Films, promotes original documentary filmmaking in Israel.

www.amythosfilms.com




Ted Byfield teaches at Parsons School of Design and New School University and is coeditor of ICANN Watch (www.icannwatch.org). His current project is Reconstruction Report (www.reconstructionreport.org).

tbyfield@panix.com


G

David Garcia is an artist, media arts producer, and a professor of Design for Digital Cultures at the University of Portsmouth. He has been with The Next Five Minutes from the beginning (www.n5m.org).

davidg@xs4all.nl


Faye Ginsburg is David B. Kriser Professor of Anthropology at New York University and Director of the Center for Media, Culture and History. Her most recent publication is Media Worlds: Anthropology on New Terrain, edited with Lila Abu-Lughod and Brian Larkin (University of California, 2002).

faye.ginsburg@nyu.edu




H

Dee Dee Halleck is a media activist and founder of Paper Tiger Television (http://papertiger.org), and co-founder of the Deep Dish Satellite Network (www.igc.org/deepdish). She recently published Hand Held Visions: The Uses of Community Media (Fordham, 2002).

dhalleck@weber.ucsd.edu


Tal Halpern is an Instructional Technology Specialist with Academic Computing Services in NYU's Information Technology Services.

tal.halpern@nyu.edu



Marianne Hirsch is a professor in the Humanities at Dartmouth College. She has published work on photography and cultural memory and is currently writing (with Leo Spitzer) Ghosts of Home: Czernowitz and the Holocaust.

Marianne.G.Hirsch@Dartmouth.edu


Brian Holmes is a theorist, activist, art critic and translator, and author of the forthcoming book: Hieroglyphs of the Future: Art and Politics in a Networked Era.

brian.holmes@wanadoo.fr


J

Natalie Jeremijenko is a design engineer and technoartist. She currently holds a research position at the Media Research Lab/ Center for Advanced Technology in the Computer Science Department, NYU.

nat@cat.nyu.edu


Mariana Johnson is a Ph.D. candidate in Cinema Studies at New York University.

marianajohnson@aol.com


K

Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett is a professor of Performance Studies at New York University. Her most recent book is Destination Culture: Tourism, Museums, and Heritage (California, 1998).

bkg@nyu.edu


Daoud Kuttab is a Palestinian journalist an activist for independent media in the Arab region. He is the director of the Institute of Modern Media at Al Quds University in Ramallah and he runs the first of its kind independent Internet-based radio station (www.ammannet.net).

dkuttab@ammannet.net


L

Geert Lovink is a Dutch media theorist and net critic. He is an organizer of numerous Internet projects, conferences and publications, amongst them the nettime mailing lists. He has two new books, Dark Fiber (MIT, 2002) and Uncanny Networks, out in 2002.

geert@xs4all.nl


Martin Lucas is a videomaker and media activist. He currently teaches film and video production at Hunter College, City University of New York.

mlucas@igc.org


M

Meg McLagan is an assistant professor of Anthropology at New York University where she teaches in the graduate Program in Culture and Media. She recently completed a book, Skillful Means: Culture, Media, and Transnational Tibet Activism.


mjm9255@nyu.edu




P

Drazen Pantic is the founder of OpenNet, the Internet department of Radio B92 in Belgrade and Serbia's first Internet service provider. He has established numerous public Internet access resources, and has taught, lectured and published widely on use of the Internet to support independent media and free expression.

drazen@location1.org


R

Joanne Richardson is a philosopher, media theorist and freelance organizer, living and working for past 2 years with media centers in Romania, Hungary and Croatia. She is currently Meta Media program coordinator at Idea Foundation, Cluj, Romania and Editor of Subsol.

subsol@mi2.hr


S

Patricia Spyer is Professor of Anthropology at Leiden University. She is the author of The Memory of Trade: Modernity's Entanglements on an Eastern Indonesian Island (Duke, 2000) and the editor of Border Fetishisms: Material Objects in Unstable Spaces (Routledge, 1998).

spyer@fsw.leidenuniv.nl


Ravi Sundaram is a Fellow of the Centre for the Study of Developing Studies, Delhi and co-Director of the Sarai programme. Sarai is South Asia's first public research initiative on urban and media culture.

ravis@sarai.net


T

Diana Taylor is a professor of Performance Studies and Spanish and the director of the Hemispheric Institute on Performance and Politics at New York University.

diana.taylor@nyu.edu


Leshu Torchin is a Ph.D. candidate in Cinema Studies at New York University.

lt323@nyu.edu









DEFINING TACTICAL MEDIA VIRTUAL CASEBOOKS ABOUT THE PROJECT CONTRIBUTORS

© NYU and contributing authors 2002