Focus on Alumni
Congratulations to:

Dr. G. Kirk Gleason

Dr. Dean C. Vafiadi

Dr. Sheldon Baumrind, Class of 1947, on receiving the 2008 Craniofacial Biology Research Award from the International Association for Dental Research.

Dr. Herbert J. Bader, Class of 1961, on authoring "Inflammatory Suppression: Rationale and Implications for the General Practice" for Dentistry Today.
Dr. Stanley F. Malamud, Class of 1969, on authoring "Modern Dental Pain Control" for Dentistry Today.

Dr. G. Kirk Gleason, Class of 1970, on receiving the 2008 Pierre Fauchard Academy Distinguished Service Award presented by the New York Section of the Academy, and on receiving the New York State Dental Association (NYSDA) Distinguished Service Award for outstanding service to NYSDA.
Dr. John Little, Class of 1972, on receiving the Academy of General Dentistry Mastership Award.

Dr. Dean C. Vafiadis, Class of 1989, on racing in the Nautica 2008 NYC Triathlon for Children in Need; on being appointed Program Director of NYU's continuing dental education course on full-mouth rehabilitation; and on speaking at the AAID Annual Meeting on Dental Implantology and at the Technical Forum at the ACP Annual Meeting.

Dr. Joseph C. D'Amore, Class of 1999, on being awarded Associate Fellowship in the American Academy of Implant Dentistry.
Dr. Fabiola Milord, Class of 1994, on being named to the New York State Dental Association's Task Force on Public Health Dentistry and Access.
Dr. Andrew Moskowitz, Class of 1997, on receiving a Fellowship Award from the Academy of General Dentistry.
Dr. Aeklavya Panjali, Class of 1994, on receiving a Fellowship Award from the International Congress of Oral Implantology.

Dr. Ruben Cohen, Class of 2002, on participating in an international outreach to Tosamaganga, in a remote part of Tanzania. The team consisted of two plastic surgeons, two anesthesiologists, and two oral and maxillofacial surgeons, one of whom was Dr. Cohen.
Dr. James R. Keenan, Class of 2002, on appearing in the "Member Spotlight" column of the Second District Dental Society Bulletin, and on receiving a Fellowship Award from the Academy of General Dentistry.
Dr. Michael F. Leifert, Class of 2002, on receiving the 2008 New Dentist Leadership Award presented by the New York State Dental Association. Given annually, the award recognizes a dentist less than 10 years out of dental school who is actively involved in organized dentistry and the community.