Research in Focus
ADEA and AADR Honor NYUCD Students and Faculty

Three NYUCD faculty members were elected to leadership positions during the 2011 annual session of the American Dental Education Association (ADEA), and two students and a faculty member received prestigious ADEA awards. Dr. Maureen McAndrew, clinical associate professor of cariology and comprehensive care and director of clinical faculty education, was elected secretary of the educational research/development and curriculum section; Dr. Laurie Fleisher, clinical assistant professor of endodontics, was elected secretary of the endodontics section; and Dr. Josephine Lomangino-Cheung, clinical assistant professor of cariology and comprehensive care, was elected secretary of the clinical simulation section.

Sam Bae, '12, won the ADEA/Gies Foundation/AADR Academic Dental Careers Fellowship Program Award; Alexis Cohen, ’12, won the ADEA/Johnson & Johnson Healthcare Products Preventive Dentistry Scholarship; and Dr. Elise Eisenberg, senior director of Informatics and clinical professor of epidemiology and health promotion, received the ADEA/Gies Foundation Education Fellowship, as well as an ADEA presidential citation.

In addition, NYUCD received two American Association for Dental Research (AADR) National Student Research Group (NSRG) Awards for 2011. NYUCD had 50 new student members in 2010 and 2011 combined, and 45 student abstracts accepted for the meeting, representing the most new members in AADR for the 2010-2011 membership years and the most student abstracts accepted for the 2011 IADR/AADR/CADR General Session.