Summer 2003 Table of Contents     

Part-Time Faculty Honored for the First Time at
Longer-Service Awards Ceremony

From left: Dr. Stanley Heller, Dr. Marvin Carmen, Dr. David Korris, Dr. Irving Shapiro,and Dr. Richard Kiman

Last February, for the first time, NYUCD’s part-time faculty participated in the College’s annual Longer-Service Awards Program, which recognizes individuals for a job well done over extended periods of time. In the past, Longer-Service Awards had gone exclusively to full-time faculty, administrators, and staff.

“We owe our part-time faculty a huge debt of gratitude,” said Dean Alfano, “and we are now using multiple vehicles to express our appreciation. Part-time faculty are invited to the annual graduation ceremony; they serve on all major committees at the College; they have their own Advisory Committee to the Dean; they are invited to all College-wide parties; they are granted pro rata voting rights; and now they are honored both in Global Health Nexus and at our service awards ceremony. But we can never do enough to thank them.”

    30-Year Service Awards

    Dr. Juliet Y. Kafka-Bergen
    General Dentistry and Management Science
    Dr. Richard A. Kiman

    25-Year Faculty Service Awards
    General Dentistry and Management Science

    Dr. Gabriel Fulop
    Dr. Steven Lee

    20-Year Faculty Service Awards
    Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
    Dr. Jack P. Barak
    Dr. Marvin Carmen
    Oral Pathology
    Dr. Paul D. Freedman
    General Dentistry and Management Science
    Dr. Stanley H. Heller
    Hospital Dentistry
    Dr. William F. Ward

    15-Year Faculty Service Awards

    Dr. Sanford J. Bier
    Dr. Richard Sheinblatt
    Cariology and Operative Dentistry
    Dr. Barnett Bucklan
    Orthodontics and Implant Dentistry
    Dr. Frank Celenza, Jr.
    General Dentistry and Management Science
    Dr. Terencia S. Conejero
    Dr. Robert A. Danti
    Dr. Samuel T. Jung
    Dr. Irving L. Shapiro
    Dr. Stanley A. Small
    Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
    Dr. Paul S. Kaufman
    Dr. Gustave Lasoff
    Dr. Rolland Rogers
    Dr. Anthony A. Sirianni
    Implant Dentistry
    Dr. Leonard I. Linkow
    Oral Medicine
    Dr. Steven R. Rosenblith
    Dr. Howard A. Weiner

    10-Year Faculty Service Awards
    General Dentistry and Management Science
    Mr. Vincent Alleluia Mr. Paul Federico
    Dr. Dolores M. Franklin
    Dr. George L. Hoffman
    Dr. Nahid Javahery-Maroff
    Dr. David Korris
    Dr. Martin J. Lapidus Mr. Patrick E. Reid
    Dr. Frank Resillez-Urioste
    Dr. Stewart Rosenblatt
    Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
    Dr. Philip Artenberg
    Dr. Morton Brod
    Dr. Clarence Calman
    Dr. Regina Landesberg
    Dr. Gayle T. Miranda
    Dr. Peter Babick
    Dr. Les Muldorf
    Dr. Debra H. Cohn
    Dr. Caroline Grasso
    Dr. Alexander Kmeta
    Dr. Todd H. Lerner
    Epidemiology & Health Promotion
    Ms. Nancy F. Fink Periodontics
    Dr. Luis Fujimoto Orthodontics
    Dr. Trevor R. Gottfried
    Dr. Robert H. Harris
    Pediatric Dentistry
    Dr. Steven R. Grossman
    Dental Hygiene
    Ms. Rosemary Hays
    Ms. Susan H. Schroeder-Davide
    Diagnostic Science and Urgent Care
    Dr. Thomas G. Jacoby
    Oral Medicine
    Dr. Ram D. Phull