Celebrating Our Community
NYUCD Students Receive Leadership and President’s Service Awards

From left: Dr. Anthony Palatta, Ms. Lee Ann Clark, Mr. Adom Crew, Ms. Jennifer Frangos, Mr. Howard Choi, Dean Bertolami, Dr. Eugenia Mejia.

From left: Andleeb Shabahat, ’09; Seema Siddiqui, ’10; Maryam Hasan, ’09; and Ghayth Adhami, ’10, with President Sexton.

The 2007–08 Student Leadership Awards, which recognize academic excellence and commitment to service by NYU dental students, were presented in December to Howard Choi, ’10, and Jennifer Frangos, ’09 (awards funded by Elsa Pleuger Rahmsdorf). In addition, NYUCD’s Dr. Edward G. Kaufman Memorial Award was presented to Lee Ann Clark, ’09. Adom Crew, ’09, received a National Scholarship Award funded by NAMME, the North American Minority Medical Association.

In April, NYUCD students also received President’s Service Awards from NYU President John Sexton for exemplary leadership skills, outstanding commitment to volunteerism, and creation of unique and successful programs. NYUCD was the recipient of four awards — two to individual students and two to student organizations.

Henna Hussain, ’08, President of the South Asian Student Dental Association, was recognized for her role in making this one of the largest and most active NYUCD student organizations.

Lisa B. Nguyen, ’08, President of the Student Council, and formerly Vice President and Class Secretary, was recognized for her leadership.

The Muslim Dental Association was recognized for providing a sense of community for Muslim students and organizing programs to promote an understanding of Islam.

The NYUCD Chapter of the American Student Dental Association was recognized for its commitment to protecting and advancing the rights, interests, and welfare of students. Ryan Lee, ’10, is shown accepting the award from President Sexton.