Spring 2006 Table of Contents
Celebrating Our Community

Focus on Alumni

Congratulations to:


Dr. Robert B. Sloane, Class of 1941, on having his paintings exhibited at the National Arts Club.


Dr. Jay S. Orlikoff, Class of 1969, on receiving the Dr. Robert Raskin Meritorious Service Award from the Suffolk County, New York, Dental Society.


Dr. Louis F. DeSantis, Class of 1984, on being named a Fellow of the International College of Dentists, and on being elected to the board of the Alice Austen House Museum in Staten Island, New York.

Dr. Steven Gounardes, Class of 1984, on being elected President-Elect of the New York State Dental Association.

Dr. Steven R. Schwartz, Class of 1983, on being interviewed about implants by WNBC-TV Live at Five and by CBS-TV Health Watch.


Dr. Phyllis G. Merlino, Class of 1994, on being named a Fellow of the American College of Dentists. Dr. Merlino was sponsored by Dr. Isabel Whitehill-Grayson, Clinical Associate Professor of Orthodontics.

Dr. Fabiola Milord, Class of 1994, on being named Dental Director of the Dental Services Program for Catholic Charities in the Diocese of Rockville Center, New York.


Dr. Yakir A. Arteaga, Class of 2000, on receiving the 2005 New Dentist Leadership Award from the New York State Dental Association Council on the New Dentist.

Dr. Cristian Morazan, Class of 2000, on working with Hurricane Katrina relief workers in New Orleans as part of the U. S. Public Health Service effort.