Fall/Winter 2005 Table of Contents
Celebrating Our Community
Dr. Dennis P. Tarnow Named
American Academy of Periodontology Master Clinician

From left: Dr. Tarnow and Dr. Vincent Iacono, President of the American Academy of Periodontology.
Dr. Dennis P. Tarnow, Professor and Chair of the Department of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry, has been recognized by the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) with its prestigious Master Clinician Award. Presented to a "practitioner who has demonstrated consistent clinical excellence in periodontics and who has willingly and unselfishly shared that clinical experience with members of the profession," the Master Clinician Award is given only rarely, when an outstanding candidate is nominated.

"Dr. Tarnow received the award for his devotion to clinical excellence and dedication to the profession, and in recognition of the high esteem in which he is held by the periodontal community," said Dr. Vincent J. Iacono, President of the AAP. A member of the NYU dental faculty for 28 years and a recipient of New York University’s highest teaching honor, the NYU Distinguished Teaching Award, Dr. Tarnow is a Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology, a reviewer for the Journal of Periodontology Editorial Board, a past member of the AAP Board of Trustees, and past Chair of its Clinical Affairs Committee. He is also a past President of the Northeastern Society of Periodontists and of the Greater New York Academy of Prosthodontists.

Dr. Tarnow, who trained in both periodontics and prosthodontics, is also internationally renowned in the field of implant dentistry. His leadership in introducing innovative implant concepts at NYUCD and around the world has revolutionized the way practitioners, students, and patients view this technique.

"Dennis Tarnow is a person of immense knowledge and skill and it is extremely fitting that he be formally recognized as the Master Clinician that he is," said Dean Alfano. "All of us at NYUCD congratulate Dennis on receiving this wonderful, well-deserved award in tribute to his stature in the profession."