Home

Faculty

Faculty Office Hours

Faculty Openings

Staff

Ph.D. Students

Hire an NYU Ph.D.

Seminars

Upcoming Events

Working Paper Search

Ph.D. Program
 -Overview
 -Requirements
 -Course List
 -Course Schedule
      Fall 2005
      Spring 2006
      Fall 2006
      Spring 2007
      Fall 2007
      Spring 2008
 -Past Grads
 -Application
 -Online Application

Undergrad Program
 -Forms
 -Overview
 -Requirements
 -Course List
 -Course Schedule
      Fall 2005
      Spring 2006
      Summer 2006
      Fall 2006
      Spring 2007
      Summer 2007
      Fall 2007
 -Honors Theses
 -Resources

Masters Program
 -Program Information
 -Course List
 -Course Schedule
     Fall 2005
     Spring 2006
     Fall 2006
     Spring 2007
 -Admissions Info

International Relations Major

Politics Data Center

Stata Ordering Info

Faculty Data Sets


Financial Information

Graduate School Application


Faculty
Sort:
Rank
Field
Adjunct Faculty

[Nathaniel Beck] [John Brademas] [Steven Brams] [Bruce Bueno De Mesquita] [Kanchan Chandra] [Youssef Cohen] [David Denoon] [Eric Dickson] [George Downs] [Patrick Egan] [Thrainn Eggertsson] [Jon Eguia] [John Ferejohn] [Shepard Forman] [Michael Gilligan] [Sanford Gordon] [Catherine Hafer] [Russell Hardin] [Christine Harrington] [Anna Harvey] [Stephen Holmes] [James Hsiung] [Bruce Jones] [Farhad Kazemi] [Rogan Kersh] [Dimitri Landa] [Michael Laver] [Paul Light] [Bernard Manin] [Fiona McGillivray] [Lawrence Mead] [Christopher Mitchell] [Timothy Mitchell] [Rebecca B. Morton] [Jonathan Nagler] [Bertell Ollman] [Pasquale Pasquino] [Adam Przeworski] [Shinasi Rama] [Richard Randall] [H. Mark Roelofs] [Shanna Rose] [Peter Rosendorff] [Howard Rosenthal] [Barnett Rubin] [Shanker Satyanath] [Martin Schain] [Alastair Smith] [David Stasavage] [Joshua Tucker] [Leonard Wantchekon]

[Nathaniel Beck] Nathaniel Beck, Full Professor
Email: nathaniel.beck@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Methodology; International Relations; Political Economy.
Education: B.A. 1967, University of Rochester; Ph.D. 1977, Yale.

[John Brademas] John Brademas,
Email: jb1@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: American Politics; International Relations; U.S. public policy; Congress; 20th-century Spanish revolutionary movements.
Education: B.A. 1950, Harvard; Ph.D. 1954, Oxford.

[Steven Brams] Steven Brams, Full Professor
Email: steven.brams@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations, American Politics, Political Methodology, Formal Modeling
Education: B.S. 1962, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ph.D. 1966, Northwestern.

[Bruce Bueno De Mesquita] Bruce Bueno De Mesquita, Full Professor
Email: bbd2@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations
Education: B.A. 1967, Queens College, New York; M.A. 1968, University of Michigan; Ph.D. 1971, University of Michigan; Ph.D. 1999, University of Groningen, The Netherlands.

[Kanchan Chandra] Kanchan Chandra, Associate Professor
Email: kanchan.chandra@gmail.com
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Comparative Politics
Education: B.A. 1993, Dartmouth; Ph.D. 2000, Harvard

[Youssef Cohen] Youssef Cohen, Associate Professor
Email: youssef.cohen@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Methodology, Comparative Politics
Education: B.A. 1971, Escola de Administracao de Empresas, FGV (Brazil); M.A. 1974, Ph.D. 1979, Michigan.

[David Denoon] David Denoon, Full Professor
Email: david.denoon@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Comparative Politics, International Relations, Political Economy
Education: B.A. 1966, Harvard; M.P.A. 1968, Princeton; Ph.D. 1975, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

[Eric Dickson] Eric Dickson, Assistant Professor
Email: eric.dickson@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Methodology; Political Economy, Comparative Politics
Education: B.S. 1996, Caltech; M.A. 1997, Princeton; A.M. 1999, Ph.D. 2003, Harvard.

[George Downs] George Downs, Full Professor
Email: george.downs@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations, Political Economy
Education: B.A. 1967, Shimer College; Ph.D. 1976, Michigan.

[Patrick Egan] Patrick Egan, Assistant Professor
Email: patrick.egan@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: American Politics
Education: BA Swarthmore College 1992; Master of Public Affairs Princeton University 2000; MA UC Berkeley 2001;PhD UC Berkeley 2007 (Expected)

[Thrainn Eggertsson] Thrainn Eggertsson, Global Distinguished Professor
Email: te15@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Economy; Comparative Politics.
Education: B.A. (hons) 1964, Manchester; Ph.D. 1972, Ohio State.

[Jon Eguia] Jon Eguia, Assistant Professor
Email: eguia@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Formal Theory, Political Economy, Social Choice
Education: BS Malaga University 2002; MS Caltech 2004; PhD Caltech 2007

[John Ferejohn] John Ferejohn, Full Professor
Email: john.ferejohn@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Theory
Education: B.A. 1966, San Fernando Valley State; Ph.D. 1972, Stanford.

[Shepard Forman] Shepard Forman, Research Professor; Director, Center on International Cooperation
Email: shepard.forman@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations
Education: B.A. 1959, Brandeis; M.A. 1961, Ph. D. 1966, Columbia.

[Michael Gilligan] Michael Gilligan, Associate Professor
Email: michael.gilligan@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations, Political Economy
Education: B.A. 1987, Wisconsin; M.A. 1989, Princeton; Ph.D. 1992, Harvard.

[Sanford Gordon] Sanford Gordon, Associate Professor
Email: sanford.gordon@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: American Politics, Political Methodology, Political Economy
Education: B.A. 1994, Cornell; M.A. 1996, Princeton; Ph.D 1999, Princeton

[Catherine Hafer] Catherine Hafer, Assistant Professor
Email: catherine.hafer@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Methodology, Political Economy, American Politics
Education: B.S. 1993, Cal Tech; M.A. 1996, Ph.D. 2001, Rochester.

[Russell Hardin] Russell Hardin, Full Professor
Email: russell.hardin@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Theory, Political Economy
Education: B.A., B.S. 1962, Texas; B.A. 1964, Oxford; Ph.D. 1971, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

[Christine Harrington] Christine Harrington, Full Professor
Email: christine.harrington@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Public Law, Law & Society, American Politics, Political Economy
Education: B.A. 1974, New Mexico; M.A. 1976, Ph.D. 1982, Wisconsin.

[Anna Harvey] Anna Harvey, Associate Professor
Email: anna.harvey@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: American Politics, Political Economy, Political Methodology
Education: B.A. 1988, Ohio; M.A. 1990, Ph.D. 1994, Princeton.

[Stephen Holmes] Stephen Holmes, Full Professor
Email: stephen.holmes@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Theory
Education: Ph.D. 1976, Yale.

[James Hsiung] James Hsiung, Full Professor
Email: jch2@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Education: B.A. 1955, National Taiwan (Taipei), M.A., 1960, Southern Illinois; Ph.D., 1967, Columbia.

[Bruce Jones] Bruce Jones, Research Professor (by Courtesy); Deputy Director, Center on International Cooperation
Email: jones12@un.org
Vita          Homepage
Fields:
Education: B.A. 1990 London School of Economics; M.S. 1992, LSE; Ph.D.

[Farhad Kazemi] Farhad Kazemi, Full Professor
Email: farhad.kazemi@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Education: B.A. 1964, Colgate; M.A. 1966, George Washington; M.A. 1968, Harvard; Ph.D. 1973, Michigan.

[Rogan Kersh] Rogan Kersh, Associate Professor (By courtesy)
Email: rogan.kersh@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: American Political Development, U.S. Institutions, and Public Policy
Education: BA Wake Forest University 1986; M.A. 1990, M.Phil, 1991, Ph.D. 1996, Yale University.

[Dimitri Landa] Dimitri Landa, Assistant Professor
Email: dimitri.landa@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Theory
Education: B.A. 1994, Cal State; Ph.D. 2002, Minnesota.

[Michael Laver] Michael Laver, Full Professor
Email: michael.laver@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Comparative Politics, Party Competition
Education: BA(Hons)1970 Essex; MA 1972 Essex; PhD 1981 Liverpool

[Paul Light] Paul Light, Full Professor (by Courtesy); Paulette Goddard Professor of Public Service, Wagner School of Public Service
Email: pcl226@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields:
Education: B.A. 1975, Macalester College; M.A. 1976, University of Michigan; Ph.D. 1980, University of Michigan.

[Bernard Manin] Bernard Manin, Full Professor
Email: bernard.manin@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Theory
Education: M.A. 1974, Paris I; Thèse de doctorat sur travaux and Habilitation ?diriger des recherches 1995, Institut d'Etudes Politiques de Paris.

[Fiona McGillivray] Fiona McGillivray, Associate Professor
Email: fiona.mcgillivray@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Comparative Politics, International Relations, Political Economy
Education: B.A. 1987, University of Strathclyde (Glasgow); Ph.D. 1995 Rochester.

[Lawrence Mead] Lawrence Mead, Full Professor
Email: lmm1@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: American Politics
Education: B.A. 1966, Amherst; M.A. 1968, Ph.D. 1973, Harvard.

[Christopher Mitchell] Christopher Mitchell, Full Professor
Email: chris.mitchell@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Education: B.A. 1966, Ph.D. 1971, Harvard.

[Timothy Mitchell] Timothy Mitchell, Full Professor
Email: tim.mitchell@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Education: B.A. 1975, Cambridge; M.A. 1977, Ph.D. 1983, Princeton.

[Rebecca B. Morton] Rebecca B. Morton, Full Professor
Email: rebecca.morton@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: American Politics, Political Methodology, Political Economy
Education: B.S. 1976, M.P.A. 1977, Louisiana State University; Ph.D. 1984, Tulane.

[Jonathan Nagler] Jonathan Nagler, Full Professor
Email: jonathan.nagler@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Methodology, American Politics, Political Economy
Education: A.B. 1982, Harvard; Ph.D. 1989, Caltech.

[Bertell Ollman] Bertell Ollman, Full Professor
Email: bo1@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Theory
Education: B.A. 1956, M.A. 1957, Wisconsin; B.A. 1959, M.A. 1963, D.Phil. 1967, Oxford.

[Pasquale Pasquino] Pasquale Pasquino, Global Distinguished Professor
Email: pasquino@ext.jussieu.fr
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political and Constitutional Theory
Education: Italian Ph.D. in Philosophy, 1971 University of Naples; Thèse de doctorat sur travaux and Habilitation ?diriger des recherches 1995, Paris Sorbonne

[Adam Przeworski] Adam Przeworski, Full Professor
Email: adam.przeworski@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Economy, Political Methodology
Education: M.A. 1961, Warsaw; Ph.D. 1966, Northwestern.

[Shinasi Rama] Shinasi Rama, Clinical Associate Professor
Email: shinasi.rama@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations and Comparative Politics
Education: M.A., 1996 USC. Ph.D. 2004 Columbia University.

[Richard Randall] Richard Randall, Full Professor
Email: rr2@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: American Politics
Education: B.A. 1956, Antioch; M.A. 1962, Ph.D. 1966, Wisconsin.

[H. Mark Roelofs] H. Mark Roelofs, Full Professor Emeritus
Email: hmr1@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Theory, American Politics
Education: B.A. 1947, Amherst, B.A. 1949, B. Littl. 1950, Oxford.

[Shanna Rose] Shanna Rose, Assistant Professor (by Courtesy)
Email: ssr5@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Public policy, political economy
Education: B.A. 1997, Swarthmore College; Ph.D. 2005, Harvard University

[Peter Rosendorff] Peter Rosendorff, Associate Professor
Email: peter.rosendorff@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations, International Political Economy, Formal Methods
Education:

[Howard Rosenthal] Howard Rosenthal, Full Professor
Email: howardrosenthal@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Economy, American Politics, Political Methodology, Comparative Politics.
Education: B.S., MIT, 1960, Ph.d., MIT, 1964.

[Barnett Rubin] Barnett Rubin, Research Professor (by Courtesy); Director of Studies, Center on International Cooperation
Email: barnett.rubin@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields:
Education: B.A. 1972, Yale; M.A. 1976, Chicago; Ph.D. 1982, Chicago

[Shanker Satyanath] Shanker Satyanath, Associate Professor
Email: shanker.satyanath@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations, Political Economy, Comparative Politics
Education: BA 1978, St. Stephens College, Delhi University; MBA 1983, Northwestern; Ph.D. 2001, Columbia.

[Martin Schain] Martin Schain, Full Professor
Email: ms5@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Comparative Politics
Education: B.A. 1961, New York; Ph.D. 1971, Cornell.

[Alastair Smith] Alastair Smith, Full Professor
Email: alastair.smith@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: International Relations
Education: B.A. 1990 Oxford; Ph.D. 1995 Rochester.

[David Stasavage] David Stasavage, Associate Professor
Email: ds166@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Economy
Education: B.A. 1989, Cornell; M.A., Ph.D. 1995, Harvard

[Joshua	 Tucker] Joshua Tucker, Associate Professor
Email: joshua.tucker@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Comparative Politics
Education: BA Harvard 1993; MIS University of Birmingham (UK) 1994; MA Harvard 2000; PhD Harvard 2000

[Leonard Wantchekon] Leonard Wantchekon, Full Professor
Email: leonard.wantchekon@nyu.edu
Vita          Homepage
Fields: Political Economy, Comparative Politics, Political Methodology
Education: M.A. 1992 British Columbia and Laval; Ph.D. 1995, Northwestern.