New York University Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Sub Navigation

Submit a Nomination

Students, faculty, and alumni wishing to submit a nomination should contact their School Representative. Each school, according to its own procedures, may then select one candidate from among its nominees to forward to the All-University Selection Committee, which makes the final selections.

The School Representatives disburse information about the award to their school and collect nominations submitted by faculty, students, and alumni. Once the school's nominee has been chosen, the School Representative also assists in preparing the nomination packet for the All-University Committee and delivering it to the Office of Faculty Resources.

The process of selecting a school's nominee is left up to the individual school. Generally, each school constitutes a representative nominating committee that comprises faculty, students, school alumni, and a representative of the dean's office. It is the task of each school committee to establish criteria that reflect the particular character of what is defined as excellent teaching in that school and to establish procedures for receiving nominations and supporting information. Each school committee may nominate one candidate to forward to the All-University Selection Committee.

Please see below for a list of School Representatives and their contact information. You may also want to check the list of eligible faculty.

2014-2015 School Representatives

SchoolContact Information
Arts and Science Associate Dean Richard Kalb             
College of Arts and Science         
Telephone: 212-998-8140                    
Email: richard.kalb@nyu.edu
Graduate School of Arts and Science Associate Dean Kathleen Talvacchia
Graduate School of Arts and Science
Telephone: 212-998-8060
Email: kathleen.talvacchia@nyu.edu
Liberal Studies Professor Peter Diamond
Liberal Studies Program
Telephone: 212-998-8890
Email: peter.diamond@nyu.edu
School of Law
Associate Dean Lisa Waldman
Telephone: 212-998-6690
Email: lisa.waldman@nyu.edu
School of Medicine Erica Torres
Office of the Dean
Dept of Cell Biology
Email: erica.torres@nyumc.org
College of Dentistry

Professor Maureeen McAndrew
Telephone: 212-998-9333
Email: maureen.mcandrew@nyu.edu 
College of Nursing Professor Barbara Krainovich-Miller
Telephone:212-995-3143                  
Email: bk30@nyu.edu
The Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development Associate Professor Offiong Aqua
Telephone: 212-998-5825
Email: ooa1@nyu.edu
Leonard N. Stern School of Business
Professor Edward Melnick
Telephone: 212-998-0444
Email: emelnick@stern.nyu.edu
School of Continuing and Professional Studies Fiona Jaramillo
Telephone: 212-998-7037
Email: fiona.jaramillo@nyu.edu
Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service Jan Blustein
Telephone: 212-998-7466
Email: jan.blustein@nyu.edu
Silver School of Social Work Assistant Professor Darcey Merritt
Telephone: 212-998-9186
Email: darcey.merritt@nyu.edu
Tisch School of the Arts Carrie Meconis
Email: carrie.meconis@nyu.edu
Gallatin School of Individualized Study Professor George Shulman
Contact: Jessica Lee
Telephone: 212-998-7367
Email: jal507@nyu.edu
Polytechnic School of Engineering

Professor Kristen Day
Email: kday@nyu.edu


Deadlines

Nominations by students, faculty, and alumni to the School Representatives are due November 17, 2014.

Final Nominations forwarded by School Representatives to the All-University Selection Committee are due January 30, 2015.

School Representatives should send an electronic copy of the nominating materials by the final nomination deadline to facultyresources@nyu.edu.


Are You a School Representative?

Current and incoming representatives may obtain a more detailed description of their duties and the administrative process of the DTA by emailing The Office of Faculty Resources.

NYU Footer