Skip to All NYU Navigation Skip to Main Content

Award Criteria

The Distinguished Teaching Award was established to recognize faculty who have contributed significantly to the intellectual life of the University through their teaching. Recipients of the award will have demonstrated their excellence as educators over a sustained period of time.

Criteria include the following:

  • A record of outstanding teaching effectiveness both within and outside the classroom
  • The ability to inspire, promote, and sustain the intellectual development of students
  • A pedagogical approach that is innovative (new approaches using current or new models of teaching), intellectually rigorous, creative, and engaging
  • Demonstrated scholarly/professional contributions and their integration into the classroom that foster critical thinking and challenge students to independent inquiry
  • Advising/mentoring of undergraduate or graduate students or doctoral and clinical supervision-interactions outside of the classroom and the quality of such interactions
  • Contribution to developing or enhancing curricula in the field
  • Length of service
  • Internal school awards/honors received

All-University Selection Committee

A special University committee made up of faculty, students, alumni, and administrators convenes each spring to review the nominees submitted by each school and make final recommendations for the Distinguished Teaching Award. In making its selection, the committee wishes to recognize the diversity of the University and the diverse forms that teaching may take in the different schools of the University.

A list of the 2017-2018 members of the All-University Selection Committee may be found below.

Current and incoming committee members may obtain a more detailed description of their duties and the administrative process of the DTA by emailing the Office of Faculty Resources.

Rena Brand, NYU Alumni Association

Kristen Day, Tandon School of Engineering

Peter Diamond, Liberal Studies Program

Brett Gary, The Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development

John Gershman, Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service

Lisa Goldfarb, Gallatin School of Individualized Study

Judith Haber, College of Nursing

Robert Hawkins, Silver School of Social Work 

Leila Jahangiri, College of Dentistry

Richard Kalb, College of Arts and Science

Sylvia Maier, School of Professional Studies 

Diana Silver, College of Global Public Health

Melvin Rosenfeld, School of Medicine

Sukhdev Sandhu, Graduate School of Arts and Science

Karen Shimakawa, Tisch School of the Arts 

Aaron Tenenbein, Leonard N. Stern School of Business 

Lisa Waldman, School of Law

Heidi White, Full-Time Continuing Contract Faculty Senators Council (C-FSC)

David Zagzag, Tenured/Tenured Track Faculty Senators Council (T-FSC)